Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

A Game of Thrones: The Card Game (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions about ambush? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Igor Bilanovic
Serbia
Belgrade
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
How does it exactly work? Can you ambush into a already started challenge?
I assume you can with an attachment (Widow's Wail) but not with characters?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Conor Hickey
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Read the entry on page 3 of the RRG, Ambush lets you put any card with Ambush into play as an Action during the Challenges Phase.

If you look at the flowchart on page 25 you'll see there are two such windows while a challenge is being resolved, after it's initiated (where the attacker declares the type of challenge and kneels the participating characters) and after the defending player declares which characters will participate on the defense.

It follows that you usually want to play a card with Ambush in the second of these windows i.e on defense in order to alter the challenge from what your opponent is expecting (usually similar with events and the like) e.g. if they see they could win Military by attacking with 5 strength as you only have 4 Military strength on board, if they attack, you declare defenders then ambush in Widow's Wail to bump your strength up to 6.

Now you don't lose a character, they don't get unopposed and they should have some characters knelt giving them less to defend with when your challenges phase comes around. You can also use it on the attack so that if they declare just enough defence to beat you (e.g. 5 vs 6) you ambush in Widow's Wail or similar and now you win the challenge and they lose a character.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Fox
United States
Chandler
Arizona
flag msg tools
Fear cannot be banished, but it can be calm and without panic; it can be mitigated by reason and evaluation.
badge
A person is smart. People are dumb, panicky, dangerous animals, and you know it.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wouldn't the defender have to ambush a character in during the first action window of the challenges phase to get the character into the challenge?

If you ambush the character in the second window, all defenders have already been declared and that portion of the phase is over (this only applies to character ambush, item ambush would work played in the second action window).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Smith
United Kingdom
Pimlico
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Was thinking the same thing Robert. Would have to be before the declare defenders stage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lytic Phage
msg tools
Flamehearted wrote:
Was thinking the same thing Robert. Would have to be before the declare defenders stage.


He means the second action window if you think of it as "pre-challenge" "Pre-defenders" and "pre-resolution" (Which is how we thought of it in first edition).

But you're both right - the character needs to be in play at the time you'd declare defenders in order to be declared as a defender - you can't use ambush to "jump" them directly into the challenge itself, you can only use it to jump them into the game, in time to be used for the challenge.

Note also that there are times in which ambushing in a character pre-resolution is worthwhile, in order to act as claim soak for an unexpected Winter is Coming, or ambush the character before intrigue claim, or use it's fancy effect (Queen's Assassin, Areo)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.