Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

They Come Unseen» Forums » Rules

Subject: Declaring Contact rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nick Case
England
Epsom
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
https://www.facebook.com/amuse.ment.92
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This question is best explained with an example;

The submarine player at the start of their turn has a sub detected by a SONAR watch. Lets say they are in the middle of a yellow sector. The player moves the sub to the edge of the yellow sector and then out of SONAR range. Is the correct declaration, 'Contact Yellow, Contact Yellow, Nothing.' Or 'Contact Yellow, Nothing'? In other words do you declare the colour you start the move in or just the colour you are moving to?

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Benford
United Kingdom
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Big Bad Lex wrote:
This question is best explained with an example;

The submarine player at the start of their turn has a sub detected by a SONAR watch. Lets say they are in the middle of a yellow sector. The player moves the sub to the edge of the yellow sector and then out of SONAR range. Is the correct declaration, 'Contact Yellow, Contact Yellow, Nothing.' Or 'Contact Yellow, Nothing'? In other words do you declare the colour you start the move in or just the colour you are moving to?



A declaration is made if a submarine starts the move in a sonar watch area and if it enters a sonar watch area (unless in either case the submarine is hidden by a layer when playing the “Weather”). I would emphasise the “at any point” and “in any part” and that it only mentions a single declaration in the rule as described on page 11: If at any point on the NATO player’s turn their Sub is in any part of the sonar range they must declare ‘contact (colour)’. In your example therefore the player would declare “Contact Yellow” i.e. telling the Soviet players that a submarine at “some point” during the turn was in “some part” of the yellow area. The rule goes on to describe a submarine passing through two different sections of a search area, so for example, if moving through the Red and Yellow areas the player would declare contact for each in the correct order: “Contact Red, Contact Yellow”.

The ‘Sonar Watch’ mechanic is designed to provide a degree of searching continuity for the Soviets to bridge the gap between turns as the NATO players move because real life doesn’t involve gaps (other than after a really good run ashore perhaps!).

I hope that helps.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Case
England
Epsom
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
https://www.facebook.com/amuse.ment.92
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick reply Andrew. Your answer seems clear but just to kick it to death and following the example, you therefore do not have to declare that the sub is no longer in SONAR range(?). We envisaged the circular SONAR screen with the sweep arm triggering a beep every time it detected a moving object, hence we thought multiple declarations appropriate and to say 'Nothing' to be clear it had left SONAR range.

Congratulations on a superb game Andrew, and thank you for being here to answer our questions 'from the horse's mouth'.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frederick Charlton

Gateshead
Tyne and Wear
msg tools
A diagram here, and perhaps for other movement situations (such as RAS) would be helpful. A picture's worth a thousand words, as they say.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frederick Charlton

Gateshead
Tyne and Wear
msg tools
,,,and for snorkling.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Benford
United Kingdom
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Big Bad Lex wrote:
Thanks for the quick reply Andrew. Your answer seems clear but just to kick it to death and following the example, you therefore do not have to declare that the sub is no longer in SONAR range(?). We envisaged the circular SONAR screen with the sweep arm triggering a beep every time it detected a moving object, hence we thought multiple declarations appropriate and to say 'Nothing' to be clear it had left SONAR range.


No, you do not have to declare that the submarine is no longer in range because with ‘sonar watch’ you’re just giving the Soviets a fleeting contact in the particular area (sonar isn’t perfect) - but how you’ve played it is a perfectly acceptable variant.

Big Bad Lex wrote:
Congratulations on a superb game Andrew, and thank you for being here to answer our questions 'from the horse's mouth'.


Thank you … I’m delighted to help.
Andy
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.