Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel Davis
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I graduated from high school in '93, as in 1993.

I was one of the founding members of my school's gaming and anime clubs, yes, an all around geek - and I loved it.

We used to play games like GURPS, Champions, Spacehulk, WH40K and Talisman. We had a great time.

Well, after hs, and up until a few weeks ago, I was totally out of gaming, except for the video variety, and a year or so of spending way too much money on Magic cards.

My question is this - is right now considered a "good" time for gaming? Are we in a an era of great games, or have the CCG and other collectable games ruined things? Have they made things better by bringing in more money? What, in your opinion, is the state of gaming in the United States right now?

(When I was heavily into gaming, I never knew heard the terms Ameritrash and Eurosnoot before. However, I defintely had a preference )
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Cheevers
United Kingdom
Liverpool
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If you have games that you enjoy and friends to enjoy them with... it's always a good time to be gaming.

James
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Pieters
Canada
Waterloo
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I think it's ALWAYS a good time to be gaming!

Personally, I'm in a mix of everything. 2 card game groups, a Texas Hold'em Poker group, 2 groups of Euro-gamers, and a group which plays APBA baseball (MLB season simulator). I also enjoy play-by-web (PbW) sites, which are GREAT for trying some games before buying.

At home, we play everything, including Eurogames like O Zoo le Mio, Aladdin's Dragons, El Grande, and American games such as Marvel Heroes & Duel of Ages, and even oldies like Uno, Sequence, and yes, Monopoly, Life, Scrabble, etc.

Just find what you like, and enjoy the company of the other players!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan
United States
Maitland