8 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: 2 quick questions concerning tests and Shub Niggurath [RESOLVED] rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
manuel p
msg tools
Hey guys [RESOLVED]

I've been playing the game for a few months now and yesterday a buddy and I stumbled across the following problems:

1) Tests
Lets say my investigator has to resolve a strength test (-2) while having 1 strength and an ally that gives 1 bonus die. How many dice is he allowed to roll?

The rulebook gives a specific sequence:
1) check skill, so that would be 1
2) add/substract modificator, here it becomes interesting, does this reduce the 1 strength to a value -1 or does it stop at 1, since you can't go below 1 die?
3) add improvementmarker
4) add effects
5) add bonus dice

So in my example, the investigator could either resolve the strength test with 1 or 2 dice.

That being said, so far we have played it the way that the investigator only gets 1 die. We simply added up all bonuses and substracted the modificator afterwards.

2) Second question concerns Shub Niggurath. When she awakens her sheet flips and the rulebook says the backside replaces the front page, but then the next paragraph tells us that you still need to beat three mysteries before solving the final mystery. When comparing it to the Cthulhu awakened page, Shubb Niggurath does not say you have to resolve 3 mysteries first before solving the final mystery. Is it correct, that when playing against Shub Niggurath you could simply avoid solving mysteries and focus on gearing up some strong fighters to just fight her off in the heart of Africa when she awakens?

Thanks for taking the time and reading this wall of text, I hope I could explain my question coherently.

RESOLVED:
1) Covered in the FAQ: add up all bonuses then substract modificator.
2) I need to learn to read the backside of epic monsters. You need to resolve 3 mysteries in order to even touch Shub Niggurath
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide