GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,367 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
23 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Ships» Forums » Rules

Subject: New Era: Which Ship Counter is Used? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Weber
United States
Ellicott City
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

The "Place Ship" action is somewhat confusing as presented in the rules. Page 7 it states that you cannot take the action without an available ship counter of the current era. No exception is made, it seems, for placing a ship that will trigger a new era. Page 9, right hand side, second paragraph only talks about clearing the card array but is silent about whether or not the ship counter from the prior era remains in the first box of the new era. I.e., it seems you must place a Galley if moving into the Sailing era.

On the other hand, if you turn a few pages later to page 12, describing the "Upgrade Ship" action, the rules indicate that this can be used to trigger a new age (and possibly a new era), but then in the fourth paragraph it seems to state that, in this case, the counter is replaced with one from the appropriate era.

Is this interpretation correct? Am I missing something?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Indru
Romania
Timisoara
Timis
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You need to have a ship token for the era in which you place it.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.