Hide
3 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Board Game Design

Subject: A VIRUS game from Global to Molecular scale rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Mason
msg tools
Hi guys, though it's my first time posting on BGG, I've been a long-time lurker. I love playing board games and have been playing those designed by others all my life until now.

After finishing a riveting book about the Ebola virus a few months ago, I just had to play a game about virus and epidemics - to scratch an itch, if you will. Being an avid gamer myself, I know there are already a lot of virus-themed games out there. However, none of them deals with the subject matter from both a global and micro perspective. In a virus game, I want to be able zoom out to contain the epidemic from a global perspective. At the same time, I also want to zoom in and research for a cure, solving the genetic riddles of what makes a virus so deadly in the first place. How could a game incorporate both elements together while making it fun and accessible? To answer this question, I decided to design one myself.

Due to experience working in the financial industry, I began to test my ideas and design on Excel with VB programming. After substantial testing and balancing, I can proudly say that the game concept and mechanics work beautifully well. The game is fully playable. Even though that it’s only on Excel so far, it produces that “just one more turn” feeling.

The game, which I named "Blight", may have become too complex to be made into a board game, even with its strong board game roots. I'm thinking of moving it to mobile devices. However before committing to it, I'd REALLY APPRECIATE it if you could please give me any suggestions or feedbacks!

Below's the website I've created for this virus game. All screenshots in the game are taken from the Excel platform where I tested my concepts:

www.cureblight.com