Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Mission: Red Planet» Forums » Rules

Subject: scoring round, area w/ resource token but no astronauts? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Donald Walsh
United States
Columbia
Maryland
flag msg tools
I buy science fiction/fantasy book collections in MD/DC/VA. GeekMail me.
badge
I buy science fiction/fantasy book collections in MD/DC/VA. GeekMail me.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We played this game twice today. In both games we had regions of mars that were explored but left empty due to either moving out by explorer or killed by the soldier.

What happens during scoring rounds to zones with resource tokens but no astronauts???

A) Place scoring tokens per rules, to possibly be awarded in later scoring turns?

B) Place no scoring tokens, the same as an unexplored area.

We played option "A". Which is correct?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Ironhat
United States
Syracuse
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We played it as A.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Smith
United States
Troy
Michigan
flag msg tools
It's a love/hate relationship.
badge
Check out my board game instructional videos on my YouTube channel: "The Game Explainer".
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Option A is correct. In scoring rounds 1 and 2, tokens not given to a player remain in the zone. In scoring round 3, tokens not given to a player are discarded.

Game on!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donald Walsh
United States
Columbia
Maryland
flag msg tools
I buy science fiction/fantasy book collections in MD/DC/VA. GeekMail me.
badge
I buy science fiction/fantasy book collections in MD/DC/VA. GeekMail me.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mr. Faidutti has responded to me by GeekMail and this is his response:
"This, indeed, is not told in the rules. I always played B, but if it works with A, why not ;-)"

So apparently it is option B.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian

Unspecified
Unspecified
msg tools
mbmb
It is strange that Bruno would say that since option A is defined for players having the same number number of astronauts (and I assume that an empty space means we all have zero - therefore the same number).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Smiles
United States
Dedham
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
admin
The ratio of people to cake is too big.
badge
Excuse me, I believe you have my stapler...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I guess the question is do the astronauts stumble upon this valuable resource laying on the ground, or does mining/harvesting occur?

If there are astronauts there to mine it, but they can't agree on who should keep the spoils, the resources stay in the region until later. If there are no astronauts to mine the resources, where did the resources for later come from?
4 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian

Unspecified
Unspecified
msg tools
mbmb
Okay, Adam, I can follow that logic and in retrospect do think that it should be B.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.