I was wondering where the Death Star goes after it destroys a planet. The rules say the troops and ships are destroyed, but the rules make the Death Star stay there.
We also assumed the Death Star simply remains in place after firing (duly noting that in the illustrated example, pages 19-20, the Death Star is nowhere to be seen in the final photo in which the Asteroid Field token is placed).
If that's the case then which way can you move it or is it possible that the Death Star can still move through the asteroids? (sorry if this question is confusing.)
Your question is fine. It's the rules that are ambiguous.
Asteroid Fields [AF] tokens "cannot be attacked or fortified through" (page 12). On page 19, a planet with an AF token is called "impassable", but then impassable is immediately defined as "cannot be attacked or fortified through".
However, the Death Star doesn't move using the "fortification" rule -- it has its own, unique move procedure. So we allow the Death Star to leave, enter, and move through AF tokens.
Note that the prohibition against attacking an AF token means the Death Star is invulnerable when it occupies an Asteroid Field.
The other question is if you have a 2 to 3 player game do you double up on troops and do you separate them like the Clone Wars Edition? I know there are teams in 4 to 5 player games, but the rules did not say that about the 2 or 3 player games.
This question came up in the Q&A that followed Dan Daly's review here (http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/135854), but only after one of the designers (Dan Sanfilippo) had already left the building, er, thread.
Our (unofficial) interpretation is that the Rebels and Imperials get only the listed number of armies total (not per army color). The second set of armies is only used during play if there aren't enough pieces left in the first color to place reinforcements.