Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

Sheepzzz» Forums » Rules

Subject: Probable error in the English language rules translation rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Fleming
United States
Lexington
Virginia
flag msg tools

(This post might more properly be associated with an earlier post by user Dan King requesting clarification on use of the purple cards. However I create this original post to draw sharper attention to what appears to be an error in the English language rules set.)

According to the English language rules, the player of a dark purple card can:
(1) Select the player who is to play next.
(2) Select the pile that must be the object of that player's play.

And again by these rules, the player of a light purple card can:
(1) Select the player who is to play next.
(2) Select the pile that must be the object of that player's play.
(3) change the (rotational) direction of play about the table.

So per these rules, the powers granted by light purple cards are essentially a superset of powers granted by dark purple cards.

However the icons on the purple cards are unconfirming of this. For while it's true that the two icons on the dark purple cards correspond to the two "powers" granted by the rules, the two icons on the light purple cards do not correspond to the three "powers" stated in the rules text. Instead the icons seem to show that you can only (optionally) change the direction of play and select the pile that is to be involved in the subsequent player's action. There is no icon showing that you can also select who the subsequent player is to be.

Thus I suspect an error in the English language rules. Bruno himself touches on this, and seems confirming when in reply to Dan King he posts:

With a light purple card:
1- You can choose to reverse direction if you want
2- You choose on which pile next player must play

With dark purple card:
1- You choose who is the next player, but without changing direction
2- You choose on which pile that player must play


-- John
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.