Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
28 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » General Gaming

Subject: Gaming group - is it OK to ask to play a game I've never played before? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Helen Slater
United Kingdom
Sheffield
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm thinking of joining an established gaming group that meets once a week. However, as a complete newbie to this sort of thing I don't know what the gaming "etiquette" is. I've only played games with friends, family or solo. (And I'm often the one teaching games to my friends/family). So this gaming group will be people I've not met before.

So I'm wondering is it OK to ask to join a group playing game X if I've never played it before? Therefore I'd need someone to teach me the rules/how to play. This would slow the game play down and is that something that is frowned upon? Like the serious gamers just want to get on and have a good, competitive game? Or are people generally willing to explain games to newbies?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
mbmbmbmbmb
Tell them that you have not played game X, but would like to try it, and let the others decide.

If you are only going to accept game X, then their decision has more consequencies for yourself.

(It depends on the group, their moods, previous agreements, the game, and how quick you are to learn, and how you play while learning, and how the game accommodates players with varying skill levels.)
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomello Visello
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Darla wrote:
However, as a complete newbie to this sort of thing I don't know what the gaming "etiquette" is.