Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Legends of Andor» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules question regarding a Gor that rolls a double on two dice rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Damien Browne
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We played a game of Legends of Andor today where a rules question was not unanimously agreed upon.

The rule, from here is this:

"Add the monster’s strength points to the highest die result. This is the
monster’s battle value. If two or more dice produce identical results and
their combined total is greater than the result of any remaining dice,
add the identical results together before adding the monster’s strength."

Now, a Gor rolls 2 dice, chooses the best one, and adds its strength (2).
In this example he rolls a double 6.

The first interpretation was that he does not have any remaining dice, therefore the content "If two or more dice produce identical results and their combined total is greater than the result of any remaining dice" can not be true, because it requires remaining dice to compare against.
In this example, the outcome is that the Gor rolled a 6.

The second interpretation is that there are no remaining dice to compare it to, therefore, two six dice is higher than zero, so you add them together, giving the Gor a result of 12.

Which is correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco
Netherlands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the case of just 2 dice, you don't compare them to other dice (even not against a 0). In this case the Gor has a result of 12 (+2 of his strength).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damien Browne
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you've misunderstood, if you think the second interpretation avoids getting killed.

The first interpretation yields a resultant of 6+2 =8 while the second yields a resultant of 14 (6+6+2)

Is there a link for the updated rule?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Kontokanis
Greece
Athens
Attica
flag msg tools
Even with 3 dices that is easy understand that there is another dice if a monster rolls eg 5 5 and 6 a result of 10 + bonus strength is not a big advantage?
Is it right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Neumann
Germany
Düsseldorf
flag msg tools
... seriously, do it :-)
badge
Play more board games!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Skral with 3 dice:
6 5 4 === 6
6 6 5 === 12
6 5 5 === 10 (because 10 is higher than 6)
6 2 2 === 6 (because 6 is higher than 4)
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
billys v
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, but what’s happening with two dice

For my perspective this rule applying only at 3 dice+
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
  • [+]
  • 1244272. qbrain35
  • 1d20 =
  • (16) =
  • 16
  • Sat Feb 17, 2018 9:17 pm
Anne Skelding
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you roll 2 dice for the monster, and they roll the same number, you add them together. Same with a hero with a helm. The total number of dice doesn't matter; if two dice match, you add them together.

Not sure where the confusion is coming from.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Hurd
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
qbrain35 wrote:
Ok, but what’s happening with two dice

For my perspective this rule applying only at 3 dice+

It's that the phrase "any remaining dice" can be zero dice. Zero is part of "any".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.