Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

World of Warcraft: The Boardgame» Forums » Rules

Subject: Is Spotting mandatory? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Denny Dukes
United States
Unspecified
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There are times when rolling extra dice can backfire. So, is Spotting mandatory? In fact, with swords and such, is using your equipped weapon mandatory?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope - it's always optional. :-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike zebrowski
United States
Unspecified
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
MrSkeletor wrote:
bleached_lizard wrote:
Nope - it's always optional. :-)


As is rolling dice (ie you don't have to roll 4 red just because you can.)


Not quite true. If use a power/item, you have to roll the dice that the power tells you to roll.

For example, if a power/item give you a green and red die, you can not chose to roll only the green die.

Mike Z
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Are you sure? If I recall correctly, there's an example in the rulebook that specifically shows that you can choose not to roll any of your dice if you wish. :-/
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike zebrowski
United States
Unspecified
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
bleached_lizard wrote:
Are you sure? If I recall correctly, there's an example in the rulebook that specifically shows that you can choose not to roll any of your dice if you wish. :-/


Yes, I'm sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damien Browne
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Somehow I cannot refuse the temptation to ask Mike Z if he is 1000% sure and then go back on myself
Oh no, you're probably right!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike
United States
flag msg tools
The question was about spotting, though, which is optional. (Ie: you could just choose to not see the results that would allow you to roll extra dice, etc.) *shrugs*
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikael Jonasson
Sweden
flag msg tools
mb
Igmatto wrote:
The question was about spotting, though, which is optional. (Ie: you could just choose to not see the results that would allow you to roll extra dice, etc.) *shrugs*


Unless we talk about monster abilities though. Those "spottings" are mandatory...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew M
United States
New Haven
Connecticut
flag msg tools
admin
8/8 FREE, PROTECTED
badge
513ers Assemble!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
soritar wrote:
Igmatto wrote:
The question was about spotting, though, which is optional. (Ie: you could just choose to not see the results that would allow you to roll extra dice, etc.) *shrugs*


Unless we talk about monster abilities though. Those "spottings" are mandatory...


Those aren't termed as 'spotting'.

-MMM
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Found it! On page 27 of the rulebook, there's an example where the warlock has a Worn Staff, but chooses not to use it in order to enable the ability of his Amulet of Protection. :-)

101% sure. ;-)

EDIT: Okay, my turn to take back what I'm saying - I'm understanding now that what you mean is that you can choose not to use an item in it's entirety, but not use only *part* of an item's power. That's okay - then we agree. ;-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Humrich
Germany
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Mike Zebrowski wrote:
MrSkeletor wrote:
bleached_lizard wrote:
Nope - it's always optional. :-)


As is rolling dice (ie you don't have to roll 4 red just because you can.)


Not quite true. If use a power/item, you have to roll the dice that the power tells you to roll.

For example, if a power/item give you a green and red die, you can not chose to roll only the green die.

Mike Z


Same reply to this as in the other thread:

There is an example in the FAQ that implies otherwise:

Example 2: This time, the Druid with “Ferocious Bite” has
a larger Dice Pool, which includes 4 blue dice and 7 red
dice. He rolls all of them. The Druid is now unable to use
“Ferocious Bite,” since he is unable to replace a blue die
with a red die he did not roll. Note, however, that the Druid
could have chosen not roll all 7 red dice in his Dice Pool,
in order to be able to change results with “Ferocious Bite.”
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew M
United States
New Haven
Connecticut
flag msg tools
admin
8/8 FREE, PROTECTED
badge
513ers Assemble!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lorien17 wrote:
Mike Zebrowski wrote:
MrSkeletor wrote:
bleached_lizard wrote:
Nope - it's always optional. :-)


As is rolling dice (ie you don't have to roll 4 red just because you can.)


Not quite true. If use a power/item, you have to roll the dice that the power tells you to roll.

For example, if a power/item give you a green and red die, you can not chose to roll only the green die.

Mike Z


Same reply to this as in the other thread:

There is an example in the FAQ that implies otherwise:

Example 2: This time, the Druid with “Ferocious Bite” has
a larger Dice Pool, which includes 4 blue dice and 7 red
dice. He rolls all of them. The Druid is now unable to use
“Ferocious Bite,” since he is unable to replace a blue die
with a red die he did not roll. Note, however, that the Druid
could have chosen not roll all 7 red dice in his Dice Pool,
in order to be able to change results with “Ferocious Bite.”


Rather than having two threads on the same topic, please direct replies to this issue to the other thread: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/1314343#1314343

-MMM
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.