rich
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hi guys

We just had a 4 player game, using Pegasus, Exodus CFB, and Daybreak. We excluded Cylon Leaders, we excluded Personal Goals and Final Five.

So when we made up the loyalty deck, it was:

1 x YAAC
8 x YANAC (7, plus one for Exodus)
1 x Mutineer
1 x YANAC (for Gaius Baltar)

For a total of 11 cards in the deck.

So at the start of the game we drew five cards, leaving 6 behind. After the Sleeper Phase, we therefore had 2 loyalty cards left after everyone had drawn one additional. No Mutineer showed up, and so we wondered for a while whether we had a Mutineer and a Cylon left in the deck (turns out we didn't, a Cylon revealed later in the game).

I thought for a while perhaps we'd done the deck creation wrong, because it seemed weird that you could have a 4 player game with both the Mutineer and the Cylon card left on the deck, but I guess it worked out OK because everyone was paranoid anyway, and we wound up with a Cylon (and ultimately a really close game) regardless.

This is all intended, right? I'm not misunderstanding the loyalty deck rules?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Muller
South Africa
Stellenbosch
Western Cape
flag msg tools
even if it's not
badge
I have a cunning plan that cannot fail.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
With the Mutineer, you should not have been left with 2 loyalty cards in the deck. If no-one reveals the Mutineer after sleeper phase, someone has to draw an extra loyalty card

Daybreak rules, p 6 wrote:
After all players have received Loyalty Cards during the Sleeper Agent phase, if the “You Are a Mutineer” Card was included in the Loyalty deck and was not revealed, the current player chooses a human player to draw an additional card from the Loyalty deck. If this player then reveals the “You Are a Mutineer” Card, he follows the above steps but does not draw an additional Loyalty Card


With 4 players, it is possible to have the either sole Cylon or the Mutineer at the bottom of the deck, but not both.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mindy G
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Mold the chaos into something beautiful
Avatar
mbmbmb
You should have had someone draw another card. From the Daybreak rules:

After all players have received Loyalty Cards during the
Sleeper Agent phase, if the “You Are a Mutineer” Card was
included in the Loyalty deck and was not revealed, the current
player chooses a human player to draw an additional card
from the Loyalty deck. If this player then reveals the “You Are
a Mutineer” Card, he follows the above steps but does not
draw an additional Loyalty Card.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
rich
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
drnlmza wrote:
With the Mutineer, you should not have been left with 2 loyalty cards in the deck. If no-one reveals the Mutineer after sleeper phase, someone has to draw an extra loyalty card

With 4 players, it is possible to have the either sole Cylon or the Mutineer at the bottom of the deck, but not both.


oriecat wrote:
You should have had someone draw another card. From the Daybreak rules:


Aha!

That is the bit that we were missing. That totally makes sense - thanks so much.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.