Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Triumph & Tragedy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Convoy engaging in Land Combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Borat Sagdiyev
Spain
Madrid
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The following situation arose in our last game and I want to be sure that we did not do anything wrong.

The Baltic States had been conquered by Germany, who had later been attacked by the Russians. So there were ground units of both sides engaged in combat.

Then, the Axis player decided to send a convoy from Berlin to the Baltic States through the Baltic Sea. A convoy which happened to be a 4CV infantry unit that joined the German counterattack the very same turn it had moved by sea.

The convoy was not a Sea Invasion as it was moving into friendly territory, so we did not see anything in the rules stopping the Axis player from doing this. But, on the other hand, it felt kind of weird that a ground unit moving by sea was part of combat in the same turn.

Did we play it right?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Koens
United States
Watsonville
California
flag msg tools
badge
marks the spot.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That sounds right to me. The troops land in friendly territory behind the lines and then join the fight. But we'll see what Craig says...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Besinque
Canada
New Denver
BC
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
We actually played this both ways in playtesting.

In the end we decided the tough part is invading into Enemy territory, not reinforcing by sea into a friendly battle (reinforcer = Owner).

So we are not penalizing reinforcements by sea, only Invasions onto Enemy coasts.

Craig
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.