Subject: Advice/suggestions on painting metals in KD style! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ivy Harriet
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
mbmb
I'm very new to miniatures painting in general and have been having a go at some survivors as practise. I've been having a few problems but stumbling through - here's my first nearly-finished one:

but I'm now painting up a metal sword and I'm not sure how to go about doing metals. I don't really want to use the metallic citadel paints I have because they look a little glittery and don't seem thematic to me, does anyone have suggestions of not-too-advanced methods of doing metal that might fit? I've thought about doing really dark grey and edge-highlighting a bit, but unsure..

Any other advice or pointers based on my picture would be very welcome too!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Critical Bill
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mb
I'm learning to paint also. I highly suggest checking out Jay's painting 101 series on Youtube. Just search for miniature painting 101 and it will pull up.

There's a ton of good videos on painting but his breaks down everything in each video. Paint wood, paint flesh, paint stone, vids for each.

Find one for Non-Metallic Metals where he paints metals with standard colors.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Trewartha
Australia
flag msg tools
mbmb
Non-metallic metal is a good technique, but it is also pretty advanced and hard to do.

What you can do is put on the bright silver then add a few layers of brown/black wash to dull the shininess and make it look old/worn.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phoenix Bird
Antarctica
msg tools
mbmbmb
That’s fantastic Ivy.

I’m really pleased you remembered to put the ink on her eyes as a founding survivor. Nice grubby feet too.