Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questing and card actions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Todd Nichols

Omaha
Nebraska
msg tools
Quick question regarding card actions and questing. When I exhaust a card can I then trigger the card's action? For example, if I have Gleowine exhaust to quest can I then trigger his action of "Exhaust Gleowine to choose a player. That player draws one card." Or are they mutually exclusive of each other?

Thanks in advance for the help. I'm really glad I picked this game up...it's fantastic.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Brown
New Zealand
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
they are mutually exclusive
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K C

Centennial
Colorado
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Definitely mutually exclusive. A character can only exhaust once each turn: to quest, to defend, to attack, or to trigger an Action or Response requiring the character to exhaust. Each of these counts as one exhausting. Unless you have readying effects to un-exhaust that character, it's one of these each turn. A primary strategy of the game consists of choosing which character to exhaust for which phase/action.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dominic B
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
vcents wrote:
Or are they mutually exclusive of each other?

This.

Actions are in general an exclusive process and so is exhausting a character to quest, defend, attack. You can never simultaneously trigger another action that requires the same "cost".

Sidenote:
Responses on the other hand work a little differently. Your example would work if Gleowine's card text would read Response: If Gleowine exhausts to quest draw one card.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Nichols

Omaha
Nebraska
msg tools
Well drat, because I was playing it opposite. And even playing it incorrectly I still couldn't beat Journey Along the Anduin. Thanks for the quick responses!

Edit: Thanks for the clarification on Responses, Dominic. That was going to be my next question.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.