Die Schatzinsel» Forums » Sessions

Subject: Session: First play, 2 players -- needs 3 or 4 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gary Pressler
United States
West Lafayette
flag msg tools
OMG! Overtext! How long have I been sleeping?! OVERTEXT! Also, I'm a DESIGNER now?! Sweet! OVERTEXXXXXXT!
HO HO HO! Give me some money!
I recently purchased a used copy of die Schatzinsel (Treasure Island) in a bundle with three other German games. I had never heard of it, as seems to be the case for most BGGers. It sounded reasonably interesting from the few comments and pictures posted here, I love tile-laying games, and the price was right, so I took a chance.

I had previously read through the rules, which are mostly quite simple, so I knew it would be quick to teach and play. Thus, I played a 2-player game while a friend and I waited for his wife to be free for a larger 3-player game. The rules took about 5 minutes to explain, and we were off. [I plan to write a full review after a couple more games, so I won't give a rules summary here.]

Normally, players hide their unplayed tiles and markers behind a shield. With 2 players, however, we immediately realized this was useless. All unclaimed tiles are placed face-up beside the board, so with only 2, it was only a matter of observing the board, the unclaimed bits, and your own stash to deduce what the other was hiding. Thus, we neglected the shields and continued.

My initial draw included a very nice threesome of consecutive tiles. My friend had all unconnected tiles. He went first and played one to claim 8 "open tile" points and block my ability to do the same. However, I was able to start at the other end of my threesome, get 8 "open tile" points, and then get an additional "connected tile" point when my 3rd tile touched the one that he played.