Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
25 Posts

Trickerion: Legends of Illusion» Forums » Rules

Subject: free "Prepare" when play setup rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
fire fire
msg tools
Rule book page 9.
It say if you meet your chosen starting Trick's Component requirements with your starting Components......

I wonder to know that is mean I should match all requirement on the Trick card like a normal "Prepare" action?
Or it just mean my starting Components meets a part of the Trick card requirement ?

---

because the example on this page is shown that he just match the 2 metal with the starting Trick's Component requirements , but he puts trick marker on this card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dirk Rieberghs
Belgium
Turnhout
-- Maak uw keuze --
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you have all the components that you need for your trick on your playerboard at the start, then you may prepare your trick (like the workshop action) and put trick markers on it, the same number of squares that are on the trick.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lutz Pietschker
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fire231 wrote:
I wonder to know that is mean I should match all requirement on the Trick card like a normal "Prepare" action?

Yes, of course. It is exactly the same formula ("meet requirements", though in the prepare rules it is in the negative) as in the "Prepare Trick" rule
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
fire fire
msg tools
PunTheHun wrote:
fire231 wrote:
I wonder to know that is mean I should match all requirement on the Trick card like a normal "Prepare" action?

Yes, of course. It is exactly the same formula ("meet requirements", though in the prepare rules it is in the negative) as in the "Prepare Trick" rule


So , the picture on the page 9 , the trick marker on the trick is wrong or it come from another rule?



red square have 2 metal and 1 petroleum(possibility) , but this trick is "Window to the Otherworld" and it requirement is 1 mirror , 1 petroleum and 2 metal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
chris chris
msg tools
mb
fire231 wrote:
PunTheHun wrote:
fire231 wrote:
I wonder to know that is mean I should match all requirement on the Trick card like a normal "Prepare" action?

Yes, of course. It is exactly the same formula ("meet requirements", though in the prepare rules it is in the negative) as in the "Prepare Trick" rule


So , the picture on the page 9 , the trick marker on the trick is wrong or it come from another rule?



red square have 2 metal and 1 petroleum(possibility) , but this trick is "Window to the Otherworld" and it requirement is 1 mirror , 1 petroleum and 2 metal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
chris chris
msg tools
mb
I have also a question about the "free prepare action" at the beginning. Does it only trigger, when i fullfill the requirements with my magician or does it also work when it is reached with the help of the manager. For exampel: I choose the "Rabbit from the top hat" spell and take a fabric and metal with the magician and an animal with the manager. Do I start with a prepared trick? Thanks for the clarification in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M Van Der Werf
Netherlands
Leiden
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
king of spades wrote:
I have also a question about the "free prepare action" at the beginning. Does it only trigger, when i fullfill the requirements with my magician or does it also work when it is reached with the help of the manager. For exampel: I choose the "Rabbit from the top hat" spell and take a fabric and metal with the magician and an animal with the manager. Do I start with a prepared trick? Thanks for the clarification in advance.


I wonder about this too, it matters quite a bit for how good the manager is. Rabbit from the top hat or Chinese sticks are pretty good starting techs with the manager. If this is not allowed the manager seems quite weak though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael T.
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fire231 wrote:
PunTheHun wrote:
fire231 wrote:
I wonder to know that is mean I should match all requirement on the Trick card like a normal "Prepare" action?

Yes, of course. It is exactly the same formula ("meet requirements", though in the prepare rules it is in the negative) as in the "Prepare Trick" rule


So , the picture on the page 9 , the trick marker on the trick is wrong or it come from another rule?



red square have 2 metal and 1 petroleum(possibility) , but this trick is "Window to the Otherworld" and it requirement is 1 mirror , 1 petroleum and 2 metal.


You are right, as a starting player it is impossible to prepare Window to the Otherworld as it also includes a component worth 3 coins, so totally 7 coins (1+1+2+3). The example picture is wrong as a player set up.

king of spades wrote:
I have also a question about the "free prepare action" at the beginning. Does it only trigger, when i fullfill the requirements with my magician or does it also work when it is reached with the help of the manager. For exampel: I choose the "Rabbit from the top hat" spell and take a fabric and metal with the magician and an animal with the manager. Do I start with a prepared trick? Thanks for the clarification in advance.


Yes of course, that is one of the points taking the manager in the beginning that you can prepare better tricks with components of a net value of 4 instead of 2 AND the use of the special +1 ability of the manager.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Amann
msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Guys!

The illustration might be misleading, we are sorry for that. The written rules are correct, "Window to the otherworld" can not be prepared at the beginning, since a mirror is missing.

The two trickmarkers on the illustration should not be there, so we are going to update the digital rules changing this.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
fire fire
msg tools
king of spades wrote:
I have also a question about the "free prepare action" at the beginning. Does it only trigger, when i fullfill the requirements with my magician or does it also work when it is reached with the help of the manager. For exampel: I choose the "Rabbit from the top hat" spell and take a fabric and metal with the magician and an animal with the manager. Do I start with a prepared trick? Thanks for the clarification in advance.


this question give me a new idea with Specialists.

Does this "free prepare action" also include the trick on the engineer board?

For example, I choose a trick 『Enchanted Butterflies』for my engineer additional trick, and my starting component is 2 Fabric(total value is 2).
Can I prepare this trick at starting setup? If yes, is it mean I can placed 3 trick markers on this trick?


THANK ALL answer.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael T.
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Amric wrote:
Hey Guys!

The illustration might be misleading, we are sorry for that. The written rules are correct, "Window to the otherworld" can not be prepared at the beginning, since a mirror is missing.

The two trickmarkers on the illustration should not be there, so we are going to update the digital rules changing this.


i would suggest that you show a starter trick which allows the trickmarkers on it to prevent confusion/doubts that this is allowed (and usually done by experienced players i presume).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M Van Der Werf
Netherlands
Leiden
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
king of spades wrote:
I have also a question about the "free prepare action" at the beginning. Does it only trigger, when i fullfill the requirements with my magician or does it also work when it is reached with the help of the manager. For exampel: I choose the "Rabbit from the top hat" spell and take a fabric and metal with the magician and an animal with the manager. Do I start with a prepared trick? Thanks for the clarification in advance.


Yes of course, that is one of the points taking the manager in the beginning that you can prepare better tricks with components of a net value of 4 instead of 2 AND the use of the special +1 ability of the manager.[/q]

If this is true then why does the recommended start for new players not use this fact? Our first game we didn't select tricks and resources ourselves and I started with the manager but the same quality trick as the rest as a result, manager felt pretty weak that way.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paletti
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
king of spades wrote:
I have also a question about the "free prepare action" at the beginning. Does it only trigger, when i fullfill the requirements with my magician or does it also work when it is reached with the help of the manager. For exampel: I choose the "Rabbit from the top hat" spell and take a fabric and metal with the magician and an animal with the manager. Do I start with a prepared trick? Thanks for the clarification in advance.

Is there an official answer on this one?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Goodridge
United States
Windsor Locks
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Currently at 1:2 ratio, getting better every week
badge
I don't want it, I don't need it, but I can't stop myself. - Stabbing Westward
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My question regarding this matter is: In the rulebook, choosing the Trick comes AFTER choosing the resources. So, is the whole process meant to be done in order, or in any order? It would seem to favor those familiar with the parts if you have to choose the components first. Of course, there's the player handbooks with all the spells in them, but still seems strange order to it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lutz Pietschker
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cardboardjunkie wrote:
In the rulebook, choosing the Trick comes AFTER choosing the resources. So, is the whole process meant to be done in order, or in any order?

Any order. Basically you may plan your starting set-up ahead using the workbook, or you may build it as you go in any order you wish. There is 3 things working together: componenets, trick, specialists, and any order you list them in seems wrong from one angle of view.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Thunkd
United States
Florence
MA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Von Strubel wrote:
king of spades wrote:
I have also a question about the "free prepare action" at the beginning. Does it only trigger, when i fullfill the requirements with my magician or does it also work when it is reached with the help of the manager. For exampel: I choose the "Rabbit from the top hat" spell and take a fabric and metal with the magician and an animal with the manager. Do I start with a prepared trick? Thanks for the clarification in advance.


Yes of course, that is one of the points taking the manager in the beginning that you can prepare better tricks with components of a net value of 4 instead of 2 AND the use of the special +1 ability of the manager.
The question about whether the manager's bonus applied for the prepared starting trick came up in our play last night. I don't own the game, and I haven't read the rulebook... but the owner of the game said that the rulebook showed that the special assistant selection only happened after the prepared starting trick was awarded and ruled that the manager's bonus couldn't be used to create an already prepared starting trick.

Is that true? If so, the value of the manager is a lot less than it would be otherwise. If not, then an official ruling would be appreciated.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sounds like Grade A nonsense to me.

Nowhere does the rule book give an ordering to he set up like that.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Thunkd
United States
Florence
MA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MercifulBiscuit wrote:
Nowhere does the rule book give an ordering to he set up like that.
Interesting. Maybe it talks about preparing the tricks first and then later talks about your initial assistant and so he assumed that it was done in the same order that it is discussed in the rule book?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmm.. I actually feel a bit bad now for the "grade A nonsense" comment. I stand by the spirit of it, though - I still think the manager's starting components count towards the free prepare - but having flicked through the rules just now, I can see how someone would get the impression that you'd only be allowed to take into account the non-manager starting components.

I'd be interested to hear other opinions on this one, actually...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim OConnor
United States
cedar rapids
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think that because they put this rule in a box labeled "IMPORTANT", that it doesn't have to follow any order.

If they had put it without this box around it, then I could see reading it as "take 2 components, take a trick, check for component requirements, take a specialist, etc etc".

But, because it is in this random box, it is more of a "If this is true at some point at the start...remember this point".

I do think that the recommended starting things should have used the manager for this purpose. I felt he was completely worthless for the entire game compared to the other 2.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Grogan
United Kingdom
Cullompton
Devon
flag msg tools
designer
Check out all my instructional How to Play videos at youtube.com/GamingRulesVideos
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We had exactly this question, it's not clear in the rules, so an official answer would be good.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Thunkd
United States
Florence
MA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Maybe a designer could be persuaded to answer?

Viktor Péter
msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon C
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thunkd wrote:
Maybe a designer could be persuaded to answer?

Viktor Péter
msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


That would be ideal, as someone else with the same question!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Viktor Péter
msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry for not addressing this otherwise very relevant question earlier - it has just been brought to my attention directly

The answer is yes - the Manager's components are part of your starting components too, so you may use them for the "free" prepare action at the start of the game.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Viktor Péter
msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fire231 wrote:


this question give me a new idea with Specialists.

Does this "free prepare action" also include the trick on the engineer board?

For example, I choose a trick 『Enchanted Butterflies』for my engineer additional trick, and my starting component is 2 Fabric(total value is 2).
Can I prepare this trick at starting setup? If yes, is it mean I can placed 3 trick markers on this trick?


THANK ALL answer.



I believe this one was left unanswered too - The answer for this is no. The free Prepare action applies to your chosen starting Trick, but according to the ruling of the Engineer's bonus, what you get is:

"A Trick card of the player’s choice with Fame
Threshold of 1, chosen after all starting Tricks have been
selected"

...but the free Prepare applies only to the chosen starting Trick, the one that's in your default Workshop.

I hope this helps!
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.