Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you use the fishing net on an epic monster rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lior A
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
And reduce his health to 1?

Thx
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Magnus Poitier
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If I remember correctly, the only stipulation that applies to Epic Monsters is that they have to be killed by Combat damage. You can't discard them through effects or items.

That said, the fishing net only reduces the damage that a monster does by 1, to a minimum of 1. It doesn't reduce a monster's health...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Krzysiek Domański
Poland
Wrocław
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Badigel wrote:
Can you use the fishing net on an epic monster

Yes.

Badigel wrote:
And reduce his health to 1?

The Fishing Net doesn't reduce monster's health.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Krzysiek Domański
Poland
Wrocław
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
alphasyndrome wrote:
If I remember correctly, the only stipulation that applies to Epic Monsters is that they have to be killed by Combat damage
Only by damage - yes.
Only by combat damage - no.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dillon Flaherty
United States
Severna Park
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
haroth9842 wrote:
alphasyndrome wrote:
If I remember correctly, the only stipulation that applies to Epic Monsters is that they have to be killed by Combat damage
Only by damage - yes.
Only by combat damage - no.


So a spell cast that does damage would be able to kill an epic monster, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Kaemmer
United States
Iowa City
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
c4dillon wrote:
haroth9842 wrote:
alphasyndrome wrote:
If I remember correctly, the only stipulation that applies to Epic Monsters is that they have to be killed by Combat damage
Only by damage - yes.
Only by combat damage - no.


So a spell cast that does damage would be able to kill an epic monster, correct?

Absolutely. The only thing that doesn't work are the key words: Defeat and Discard
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Krzysiek Domański
Poland
Wrocław
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
iswearihaveajob wrote:
c4dillon wrote:
haroth9842 wrote:
alphasyndrome wrote:
If I remember correctly, the only stipulation that applies to Epic Monsters is that they have to be killed by Combat damage
Only by damage - yes.
Only by combat damage - no.


So a spell cast that does damage would be able to kill an epic monster, correct?

Absolutely. The only thing that doesn't work are the key words: Defeat and Discard

And "Move". Epic monsters can only be moved by their own effects, or effects from cards that spawned them.


Edit: Typo.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dillon Flaherty
United States
Severna Park
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the answers and quick responses J and Eremita!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Xelto G
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
c4dillon wrote:
haroth9842 wrote:
alphasyndrome wrote:
If I remember correctly, the only stipulation that applies to Epic Monsters is that they have to be killed by Combat damage
Only by damage - yes.
Only by combat damage - no.


So a spell cast that does damage would be able to kill an epic monster, correct?

Yes. So will results from Tokyo, dynamite, agency quarantine, and any other damage-dealing effects.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.