John Ahn

Tennessee
msg tools
The Crisis mode states that when a Villain is bought or gained from the line up it is destroyed and when you "DEFEAT" a "SUPERVILLAIN" It is removed from play.

Now Aquaman's trident allows you to put "ANY ONE" card that you buy or gain to the top of your deck. Does this apply to Villains in the lineup and Super villians? Is there a set rule of defeating supervillains being different from gaining them because in the fist expansion as a standalone when you defeat a supervillain you gain them and they go to your discard pile. Wouldn't Aquaman's trident bypass this rule of Crisis Mode? Also solomon Grundy says when you buy or gain this villain it goes to the top of your deck. So how does this work?

Help Please!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kenny Renaud
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Villains do not make it into your deck for any reason when playing crisis mode.

In most card games, when something says "can't" no amount of "can" will trump it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjamin Goertz
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
NA NA NA NA . . .
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kenneth_paltrow wrote:
Villains do not make it into your deck for any reason when playing crisis mode.

In most card games, when something says "can't" no amount of "can" will trump it.


Correction: You cannot have villains in your deck unless it says you can pick it up from the destroyed deck or a Crisis card says so. There are a number of cards (such as Signature Trenchcoat and Black Lantern Power Ring) that allow you to grab villains from the destroyed pile. You can only gain villains from the Line-Up "normally" when you have Crisis Black Canary or the Crisis card from Crisis Expansion 2 that changes the rule temporarily. There may be some more exceptions I am missing though.

In terms of Aquaman's Trident, if you gain from destroyed pile with the specific exceptions from the Line-Up, you can put it on top of your deck instead of your discard pile. If you gain Solomon Grundy in those same fashions, you can use his ability to put it on top as well.

The one thing to remember is that you do not gain villains from the Line-Up except when cards explicitly state you take the action instead of destroying the villain per the Crisis rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.