Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Star Wars: Armada» Forums » Rules

Subject: Command Activation Cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul B
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mb
Hey quick question,


So let's look at the card "flight controllers" as an example, it states:

Flight Controllers: [Squadron command]: The Anti-squadron armament of each squad that you activate is increased by 1 blue die until the end of its activation.

Alright, does this effect come into play when activated by just a command dial, or does a squadron token work with it too?

On a random side note, let's say I have a squadron dial with a ship of 2 squadron value which also has a token saved up. Can I spend the dial and the token at the same time in order to activate 3 squadrons? If this ship had Flight controllers would they all get the benefit?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig C
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Random side note answer: yes, you can use a Squadron command and a Squadron token at the same time, to beef up the command. And they should all get the benefit in that case.

Original question: not completely sure, but the words "Squadron Command" in the description make me think the Flight Controllers' ability only works when you pick the Squadron command.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen T
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Like Engine Techs which can trigger off a Nav token, Flight Controllers should trigger off a Squad token. After all, the token counts as a command, just with a lesser result than using the dial.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
East Windsor
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Using a dial, token or both all count as a [Squadron Command].
Also the card does not say the word "Squadron Command". This just denotes that the card show that icon.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig C
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
err404 wrote:
Using a dial, token or both all count as a [Squadron Command].
Also the card does not say the word "Squadron Command". This just denotes that the card show that icon.


Aha. In that case, I agree that you can use it with the command or a token.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Hanson
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
err404 wrote:
Using a dial, token or both all count as a [Squadron Command].
Also the card does not say the word "Squadron Command". This just denotes that the card show that icon.


Right, this is correct. Whether or not that ship executes the Squadron Command is a binary decision. If the command is executed, the "strength" of the command in terms of the number of squadrons that can be commanded is determined by whether the dial was spent, a token was spent, or both, but for all combinations any ability that triggers off of a Squadron Command happens.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig C
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hansolo88 wrote:
err404 wrote:
Using a dial, token or both all count as a [Squadron Command].
Also the card does not say the word "Squadron Command". This just denotes that the card show that icon.


Right, this is correct. Whether or not that ship executes the Squadron Command is a binary decision. If the command is executed, the "strength" of the command in terms of the number of squadrons that can be commanded is determined by whether the dial was spent, a token was spent, or both, but for all combinations any ability that triggers off of a Squadron Command happens.


Thank you, Lobot.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.