Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
20 Posts

Roll for the Galaxy: Ambition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Alien Uplift Blueprints and Alien Booby Trap rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ben Finkel
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Alien Uplift Blueprints: "Genes and Alien Technology worlds require one fewer settler to complete."

Alien Booby Trap, 1 cost: "Remove the settler that completed this world"

How do these two tiles interact? I'm assuming that if I have the Alien Uplift Blueprints, when I settle Alien Booby Trap I remove no settlers, as no settler completed the world. Is that correct?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Honig
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think there's any other way to handle it, as Alien Uplift Blueprints doesn't specify minimum 1 Settler.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Burt Yaroch

The Villages
Florida
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
That would be my interpretation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete Goch
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Interesting. Most Settle and Develop discounts say "to a minimum of one" ensuring that you need at least one settler/developer to complete any world/development. Alien Uplift Blueprints does not...presumably because there was no 1 cost Yellow or Green world in the base tile set.

I would suspect that the "to a minimum of one" is the default case and should apply here. The text was left off as an expansion tile with a 1 cost yellow or green world wasn't anticipated. That's my guess, anyway.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason
United States
Brooklyn Center
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
TheOneTrueZeke wrote:
I would suspect that the "to a minimum of one" is the default case and should apply here. The text was left off as an expansion tile with a 1 cost yellow or green world wasn't anticipated. That's my guess, anyway.


My guess would be the opposite. I can't believe it didn't come up during testing or designing, so my guess is that they intended it as worded since they didn't either put anything in the manual about it or include an updated tile to replace the old one.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Yes, a player with Alien Uplift Blueprints can, during Settle, complete the Alien Booby Trap for free, removing no dice.

(After all, if you have the blueprints, it is easy to avoid a Booby Trap.)
21 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Bussema
United States
Lansing
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tom Lehmann wrote:
Yes, a player with Alien Uplift Blueprints can, during Settle, complete the Alien Booby Trap for free, removing no dice.

(After all, if you have the blueprints, it is easy to avoid a Booby Trap.)


The architect who included the Booby Trap on the blueprints has been sacked.
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd McCorkle
United States
Anderson
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
InfoCynic wrote:
Tom Lehmann wrote:
Yes, a player with Alien Uplift Blueprints can, during Settle, complete the Alien Booby Trap for free, removing no dice.

(After all, if you have the blueprints, it is easy to avoid a Booby Trap.)


The architect who included the Booby Trap on the blueprints has been sacked.

Funny, I always thought the blueprints simply help you get hit by the booby trap faster.

"According to the map, there's a trap around he-- aaaaaaarrrrrrgggggghhhhh! *thud*"
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
InfoCynic wrote:
The architect who included the Booby Trap on the blueprints has been sacked.

That's not what I was trying to suggest. It is the *discrepancy* between a booby trap and what the blueprints show that alerts one to the fact that something's off and one must proceed cautiously...
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Bussema
United States
Lansing
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh sure, that makes sense too, but isn't nearly as funny.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kester J
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do the Blueprints work this way with Contact Specialist too? Just played a game where we assumed they did, and one player was able to settle three green worlds with only a single dice assigned to settle and three reds (from start tiles) in citizenry to discard. It seemed a bit silly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Nguyen
msg tools
mbmb
Kester wrote:
Do the Blueprints work this way with Contact Specialist too? Just played a game where we assumed they did, and one player was able to settle three green worlds with only a single dice assigned to settle and three reds (from start tiles) in citizenry to discard. It seemed a bit silly.


Wot that doesn't seem right. Two green planets would have to have a cost of one and the first green to have a cost of two. You can only remove the red dice for contact specialist if you're about to finish the world.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Kester wrote:
Do the Blueprints work this way with Contact Specialist too? Just played a game where we assumed they did, and one player was able to settle three green worlds with only a single dice assigned to settle and three reds (from start tiles) in citizenry to discard. It seemed a bit silly.

It's not legal. Contact Specialist, per its "just before" wording, must be applied last, so its "not fewer than 1" kicks in and at least 1 Settle die will be used per world settled in this manner.

To see this more clearly, suppose you have a 4 cost Genes world on your stack that Alien Blueprints reduces to 3. Say, you have 3 dice assigned to Settle. Either you apply them one at a time and get to 3 dice on the world, in which case, you complete it and it is placed, or, before you add your 3rd die, you invoke Contact Specialist. At that moment, its cost goes to 1 and you complete the world, removing one die from your stack. Now, suppose the tile underneath is a cost 3 Genes world, reduced to 2 by Alien Blueprints. Again, you can either add your remaining Settle die (and complete this world) or invoke Contact Specialist. If you do the latter, you complete the world and remove a die.

Remember, dice are added to your Construction Stack one at a time, checking for completion as you go.
5 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kester J
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Tom! That makes sense; something felt a bit off, but we didn't reason the "just before" through thoroughly enough to realise what it was.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann wrote:
Yes, a player with Alien Uplift Blueprints can, during Settle, complete the Alien Booby Trap for free, removing no dice.


Am I right in thinking that this conflicts with the base game rulebook?

The Rulebook wrote:
The minimum number of workers to place a tile is 1, not 0, even if discounts would reduce it below 1.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason
United States
Brooklyn Center
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
flibberdyjib wrote:
Tom Lehmann wrote:
Yes, a player with Alien Uplift Blueprints can, during Settle, complete the Alien Booby Trap for free, removing no dice.


Am I right in thinking that this conflicts with the base game rulebook?

The Rulebook wrote:
The minimum number of workers to place a tile is 1, not 0, even if discounts would reduce it below 1.


Where is that at, exactly? I'm having trouble finding it in the pdf from:
http://riograndegames.com/Game/442-Roll-for-the-Galaxy

I know sometimes printed ones can differ from the pdf but I don't have my copy right in front of me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
In my printed version, it is in the section "FOR RACE FOR THE GALAXY PLAYERS", between "All developments are unique." and "Tiles' VPs are equal to their cost (except "6+" developments)."

I did not think to check the online rulebook.

Thank you very much!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
EXTRA AVOCADO! Sonderegger
United States
Folsom
CA
flag msg tools
designer
Shall I compare thee to a chevrolet?
badge
...the headlamps of your eyes will make them dream.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So is this a change now?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason
United States
Brooklyn Center
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
flibberdyjib wrote:
In my printed version, it is in the section "FOR RACE FOR THE GALAXY PLAYERS", between "All developments are unique." and "Tiles' VPs are equal to their cost (except "6+" developments)."

I did not think to check the online rulebook.

Thank you very much!


Interesting. That's definitely not in the PDF. Like I said, though, you can't put too much stock in that. I've had games where they added/tweaked stuff after the generated the PDF and before they printed the manual.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
EXTRA AVOCADO! Sonderegger
United States
Folsom
CA
flag msg tools
designer
Shall I compare thee to a chevrolet?
badge
...the headlamps of your eyes will make them dream.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jepmn wrote:
flibberdyjib wrote:
In my printed version, it is in the section "FOR RACE FOR THE GALAXY PLAYERS", between "All developments are unique." and "Tiles' VPs are equal to their cost (except "6+" developments)."

I did not think to check the online rulebook.

Thank you very much!


Interesting. That's definitely not in the PDF. Like I said, though, you can't put too much stock in that. I've had games where they added/tweaked stuff after the generated the PDF and before they printed the manual.


It's in my rulebook too.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.