Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kostas K.
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I haven't played Pandemic Legacy yet, but I have some experience with regular Pandemic and after watching a few (spoiler-free) reviews it seems Legacy takes it into the next level.

What I'm curious about, however, is why the "Legacy components" aspect is handled in such a way that does not allow replaying the season after you're done. It's not the first game to have a persistent campaign; there are other ways to keep track of skills, map area changes, additional rules etc without one-use stickers; Boxes with lids have been invented, tearing them apart isn't the only way to open them; I think tearing a card after it is no longer needed could be replaced by a simple "return it to the box".

Yes, I know that once you know what the boxes include the novelty wears off, but shouldn't this ultimately be the players' choice? That could be said (perhaps to a lesser extent, but still) about a lot of games with hidden information like Mansions of Madness, Descent, etc. How would you feel if skills, equipment, alternate routes and quests in those games were one-use as well? I've already seen gamers eager to replay the Pandemic season 1 with a different group, surely buying a second copy won't do much to restore the novelty.

So, are there legitimate component issues that could in no way be handled without ruining the copy at the end of the season, or is this a case of "if you want to replay it, re-buy it?".
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle A
United States
Norfolk
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kostool13 wrote:
I haven't played Pandemic Legacy yet, but I have some experience with regular Pandemic and after watching a few (spoiler-free) reviews it seems Legacy takes it into the next level.