Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Doom: The Boardgame» Forums » Rules

Subject: Confused with AIM order rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Euron Crows Eye
United Kingdom
radcliffe
Lancashire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all -

Can the aim fire be used in the invaders turn?

Or as it got to be used the turn you place or can it wait til your next turn?

Any examples of use welcome!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich Chamberlain
United Kingdom
Nottingham
Nottinghamshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The AIM order allows you to re-roll any number of dice in your attack. But the point is that you have to attack during your turn.

What this means is that in your normal turn you get two "half actions" (the new name for this mechanic by FFG). If you chose to ready the AIM order as one half action then attack with the other half action, that attack can be rerolled - especially useful if you roll a miss.

It is only the GUARD action which allows the Marine player to perform a half action during the Invader's turn, namely firing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Hall
Australia
Brisbane
Queensland
flag msg tools
The aim order can be discarded when the marine is making an attack, in order to reroll some of the dice. It does not give the marine an opportunity to make an attack during the invader's turn, but if the marine does make an attack during the invader's turn, he can use the order. (There's no way to do this in the base game, but I think the expansion has a marine card that effectively gives the watchful ability.)

If the marine still has the aim order in his next turn, he can choose to use it then, as well. It is lost if he is ever wounded, or if he moves, but otherwise it will stick around forever as long as it is not used. It is not discarded at the start of the marine's turn, as the other three orders are. A marine could, in theory, unload turn after turn, suppress the enemy well enough to avoid attacks, and keep his aim order for quite a few turns.

Note that a marine cannot have multiple orders at one time, so he can't aim in one turn, then guard in the next, then make an aimed attack in the invader's turn by discarding both orders.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul DeStefano
United States
Long Island
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
It's a Zendrum. www.zendrum.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Best thing about aiming is it uses less ammo by rerolling them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tibs
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wraith wrote:
The aim order can be discarded when the marine is making an attack, in order to reroll some of the dice. It does not give the marine an opportunity to make an attack during the invader's turn, but if the marine does make an attack during the invader's turn, he can use the order. (There's no way to do this in the base game, but I think the expansion has a marine card that effectively gives the watchful ability.)


The card you're talking about is Lean and Mean. Unfortunately though, the watchful ability is only effective when you have a Dodge order. Since you can only have one order at a time, you can't have dodge and aim at the same time.

There is a card that can give you a reroll though: Alert (in addition to giving a free guard at the end of an advance move), makes all your activated guards aimed attacks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.