Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Mottainai» Forums » Rules

Subject: Statue and Vase: Transfer One Material? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Statue and Vase have similar effects:
STATUE wrote:
After you complete this, transfer two materials from the floor to your craft bench.

VASE wrote:
After you complete this, transfer two materials from the floor to your sales.

Since using effects is optional, one can complete either of these and not take materials from the floor.

What if the floor has only one card? Can you use either of these take that one card?

Suppose that the floor has more than one card, but you want to take only one. (You might want to do so with Vase because of limited cover; you might want to do so with Statue because you want to leave a card for a subsequent Monk action.) Can you do that?

An earlier discussion of Robe (not fully resolved) suggests that, if the floor contains two or more cards, you cannot take only one.

The Robe discussion doesn't apply to the case of there being a single card on the floor.

I could see an argument that Statue and Vase each say, "transfer two materials from the floor," and if there aren't two cards there, you simply can't use the effect.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Chudyk
msg tools
designer
If and only if there is exactly one card on the floor, you can use the Statue or the Vase to transfer that one card, instead of two.

The conclusion drawn in the Robe discussion was sound.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Rabinowitz
United States
Columbia
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for checking in on these questions.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.