Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Conflict of Heroes: Storms of Steel! – Kursk 1943» Forums » Rules

Subject: SoS FF #7 Wounded Tiger rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bill Walis
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Two Soviet T-34's were able to get behind the immobilized Tiger.
The German commander paid the 2 extra action points to fire outside the Tiger's firing arc, hitting one T-34.
The Soviet fired back, inflicting no damage.The Tiger returned fire without paying the additional 2 points, reasoning that his turret was already in position from the previous shot.
Did we play this correctly?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glen williams
United States
Olmsted falls
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Assuming that the Tiger was not spent, it cost only 1 AP to rotate the turret to fire. Rule 6.1 (Poland and Eastern Front Rulebook).
If it was spent, the cost is 2 CAP. (Rule 3.2.2)
Rules are ambiguous on turret remaining outside covered arc or if it automatically returns to its covered arc concerning the second T34 shot. One could argue that since the target is still outside the counter's covered arc, it would cost another AP (or 2 CAP if spent) to fire at the second T34.
(If you were playing a real miniatures game or squad leader (ASL) this issue would be as you played it since the turret direction would be
clearly shown....but alas, there are no turret markers in this game.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Ellis
United Kingdom
Newcastle upon Tyne
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I took this issue up a long time ago, and the ruling was that you pay the extra 'cost' for firing outside of the facing arc every time you do so. There is no mechanism within the game for recording different turret facings.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
uwe eickert
United States
Fremont
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bill, everyone is correct that you play the extra 2APs. It is not the turret facing that we are worried about, but the tank's overall positioning and Fire Zone outlook. Pivoting the tank towards the new threat repositions the entire crew's 'outlook'.
Hope this makes sense.
Uwe
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Moore
United States
Sheffield Lake
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
In Fire Fight #7 the Tiger Tank is immobilized, thus the crew is unable to pivot or reposition the tank.
Perhaps this should be considered.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls