Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
26 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Fury of Dracula (Third/Fourth Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Combat card question. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Juan Mejia
United States
Chicago
IL
flag msg tools
of Power
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule book makes a point of saying that cards remain in play, but then you immediately pick them back up in the draw cards step?
Unless it means you play a card, draw back up, then after playing round two you get card one back?
In that case do round one's card symbols affect round two?
I'm playing this tomorrow and I'm pulling my hair out figuring out the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Stair
United States
Macon Area
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hunters will play 1 card on the fist round and then play another card one the 2nd round and at the end of that round will pick up the first card to use again.

Dracula will play 1 card the first round and that card will stay on the table and he will draw a new combat card
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zach Mckinney
United States
Willington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mb
Dracula leaves all his played cards out, the hunters leave the last card played out for one round.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juan Mejia
United States
Chicago
IL
flag msg tools
of Power
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh, and another question, the rules say that combat ends if all hunters are bitten.
Does Mina's permanent bite count towards this?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juan Mejia
United States
Chicago
IL
flag msg tools
of Power
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mcloud357 wrote:
Dracula leaves all his played cards out, the hunters leave the last card played out for one round.
Is the point of this just so the hunter can't use the card again?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Stair
United States
Macon Area
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
8. Refresh Hands: Dracula and the hunters each refresh their hands and then begin a new combat round.
† Dracula draws the top card from his combat deck and places it in his hand.
† Combat cards played during this round remain in front of the hunter who played it.
† Hunter’s combat cards played during the previous round are returned to their owner’s hand.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zach Mckinney
United States
Willington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mb
yes and it keeps the hunter from going knife knife knife, unless they happen to have 3 of them.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Stair
United States
Macon Area
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Triceranuke wrote:
Oh, and another question, the rules say that combat ends if all hunters are bitten.
Does Mina's permanent bite count towards this?
only if she is bitten again
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zach Mckinney
United States
Willington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mb

which in itself is an added bonus.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Stair
United States
Macon Area
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I played this soundscape in the background it was cool
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pip0NVUaO_U

Someone made it for Lettlers to Whitechapel but it works for Fury of Dracula also
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juan Mejia
United States
Chicago
IL
flag msg tools
of Power
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dstair2002 wrote:
Triceranuke wrote:
Oh, and another question, the rules say that combat ends if all hunters are bitten.
Does Mina's permanent bite count towards this?
only if she is bitten again
So it's just if all hunters have been bitten this combat?
The RR doesn't mention this at all, saying its only when Dracula has played 6 or all players are defeated.
The LtP says the bitten thing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zach Mckinney
United States
Willington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mb
at least it is not the arkham rules
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Stair
United States
Macon Area
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Players continue resolving combat rounds until a combat ends in one of the following ways:
● Dracula has played six combat cards.
● Dracula wins the game by advancing the influence track
to space “13.”
● The hunters win the game by defeating Dracula.
● All hunters involved in the combat are bitten, defeated, or have escaped.
● Dracula resolves “Escape as Bat” or “Escape as Mist.” Dracula’s “Pride” ability explains the conditions under which these cards resolve.
After combat ends, each hunter in the combat places his hunter combat cards (“Dodge,” “Punch,” and “Escape”) back in the combat card piles near the board. Dracula shuffles all Dracula combat cards into his deck
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juan Mejia
United States
Chicago
IL
flag msg tools
of Power
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dstair2002 wrote:
Players continue resolving combat rounds until a combat ends in one of the following ways:
● Dracula has played six combat cards.
● Dracula wins the game by advancing the influence track
to space “13.”
● The hunters win the game by defeating Dracula.
● All hunters involved in the combat are bitten, defeated, or have escaped.
● Dracula resolves “Escape as Bat” or “Escape as Mist.” Dracula’s “Pride” ability explains the conditions under which these cards resolve.
After combat ends, each hunter in the combat places his hunter combat cards (“Dodge,” “Punch,” and “Escape”) back in the combat card piles near the board. Dracula shuffles all Dracula combat cards into his deck
That's where I'm confused, both Helsing and Mina can be bitten before a combat starts, and the rules are vaguely worded about whether their bites count towards that limit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Stair
United States
Macon Area
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
How can they be bitten before combat starts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juan Mejia
United States
Chicago
IL
flag msg tools
of Power
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dstair2002 wrote:
How can they be bitten before combat starts?
Mina always counts as bitten and Helsing has two bite locations so he could have been bitten in a previous combat
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Stair
United States
Macon Area
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Combat only ends if Dracula uses his combat card fangs and it is successful. And van gets another bitten token or Mina would get another one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey Speer
United States
Fargo
North Dakota
flag msg tools
Gravity Falls
badge
Remember, reality is an illusion, the universe is a hologram, buy gold, bye!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Literally go read the card fangs. It tells you how it works.


To clarify,if a hunter is mesmerized, and you play fangs, it "bites" them and they are removed from combat.

If you bite Mina in this manner, she doesn't have a place to put a fangs token as she is already bitten, so she is defeated and Dracula wins influence points equal to 2 + despair.

If you bite any hunter after they have been Mesmerized, it removes them from combat and they get a fangs token. If they don't have a place to put it, IE, it is Van Helsing's 3rd bite, any other hunter's second (except for Mina, who can't suffer a bite at all) , then Dracula gets VPs and the hunter is defeated.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey Speer
United States
Fargo
North Dakota
flag msg tools
Gravity Falls
badge
Remember, reality is an illusion, the universe is a hologram, buy gold, bye!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, each round's cards played only affect the current round, so no, round 1's played symbols don't affect round 2. That's reading way too much into the rules that isn't there.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randal Divinski
United States
Natick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Triceranuke wrote:
dstair2002 wrote:
Triceranuke wrote:
Oh, and another question, the rules say that combat ends if all hunters are bitten.
Does Mina's permanent bite count towards this?
only if she is bitten again
So it's just if all hunters have been bitten this combat?
The RR doesn't mention this at all, saying its only when Dracula has played 6 or all players are defeated.
The LtP says the bitten thing.
Yes, it means bitten this combat which is also known as "defeated" -- which would have been the clearer way for FFG to state this.

EDIT: I got this wrong: see below.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H-B-G
United Kingdom
Halesowen
West Midlands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
randiv wrote:
Triceranuke wrote:
dstair2002 wrote:
Triceranuke wrote:
Oh, and another question, the rules say that combat ends if all hunters are bitten.
Does Mina's permanent bite count towards this?
only if she is bitten again
So it's just if all hunters have been bitten this combat?
The RR doesn't mention this at all, saying its only when Dracula has played 6 or all players are defeated.
The LtP says the bitten thing.
Yes, it means bitten this combat which is also known as "defeated" -- which would have been the clearer way for FFG to state this.
No, a hunter isn't defeated, if they are bitten in a combat, only removed from that combat, unless they have taken a total of 2 bites altogether (1 for Mina, 3 for Van Helsing).

Defeated means a trip to the hospital which wouldn't happen due to a single bite (other than Mina)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Stair
United States
Macon Area
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DavaD is correct on this one
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randal Divinski
United States
Natick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DaveD wrote:

No, a hunter isn't defeated, if they are bitten in a combat, only removed from that combat, unless they have taken a total of 2 bites altogether (1 for Mina, 3 for Van Helsing).

Defeated means a trip to the hospital which wouldn't happen due to a single bite (other than Mina)
You are correct, sir.

I should have said that "bitten this combat" equals "removed from combat" (not necessarily defeated). So, combat ends if all hunters have been removed from combat(either as a result of being bitten or escaping).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Loomis
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mcloud357 wrote:
yes and it keeps the hunter from going knife knife knife, unless they happen to have 3 of them.
Actually 2 knives is enough to knife every round in combat.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Froilan Flores
Philippines
flag msg tools
What happens to the items left in the hand of the hunters besides the punch dodge escape? Are they discarded?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2  Next »   |