Subject: warriors rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Groves
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all

I've done some reading on the Roman army recently (I'm no expert, though) and know that the Roman's had all types of troops, such as heavy and light infantry plus auxiliaries but would such a highly disciplined army have a type of unit to match the warriors from CCA. I thought that such a class would be suitable for the barbarian armies but not the Roman despite using men from all nationalities.

Thank you for any historical guidance.

Dave
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Miguel [working on TENNISmind]
France
Caen
(from Valencia, Spain)
flag msg tools
designer
My next game: TENNISmind, a simple yet realistic tennis match on your table
badge
My best-rated game: TETRARCHIA, about the tetrarchy that saved Rome
mbmbmbmbmb
The Roman army has Warrior blocks, but they are not used often, at least when the Gray army represents Rome. And when they are used, usually you find in the historical background what they represent.

For example, going quickly through the scenario book, I find 2nd Beneventum in which Gracchus used two legions of slaves.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michal K
Poland
Warsaw
Mazowieckie
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Indeed, Warriors on Roman side are very rare in CCA scenaros - which correctly shows their use by Roman Army - sporadic, opportunistic but not a general rule.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McG
Australia
Penshurst
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
The Romans used various allies in most wars, I have some recollection of Spanish Celto-Iberian allied troops in the 2nd Punic War. Julius Caesar used German cavalry extensively in the conquest of Gaul.

In the Empire period the extensive use of Barbarian mercenaries. Hunnish cavalry was widely used when they were available.