Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Gallerist» Forums » Rules

Subject: kick-out action, clarification needed rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Johan Ideström
Germany
Bremen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am confused about the kick-out action.
The rule book uses sometime the singular (kick-out action) and sometimes the plural (kick-out actions), and therefore it is unclear to me how many kick-out actions you can take.

The rule book says:
-------------------------
The possible Kicked-Out Actions are:

a) Reducing Influence back to the previous Fame icon to perform one of the Location’s Actions.

b) Take an Executive Action.
-------------------------

The question is, if you are kicked-out, can you do:
1. a) and b)
or
2. a) or b)
or
3. a) and/or b)

Depending on what you are allowed to do during kick-out, it influences how strong the kick-out is.
For example if you are allowed to do a) and b), then the kick-out is like a full extra turn you get during somebody else turn.
If you can do only a) or b), then it is like a weaker half turn, which would be okay considering you do it during somebody else turn.

I would appreciate some clarification on this point.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Pierce
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You choose either a) or b). Choosing a) gives you a more powerful action, but at a steeper cost. Choosing b) gives you a nice free executive action, which might free you up to take an alternate one on your next turn.

You do not get to do both a) and b).
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vital Lacerda
Portugal
Oeiras
flag msg tools
designer
badge
2020 - Kanban EV, Mercado de Lisboa, 2021 - Weather Machine, Surviving Mars Exp, 2022 - House of Crime, Bot Factory, 2023 - Neural Net, 2024 - Escape Plan the Heist
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In you turn you can do a) and b) for free.
During Kick-out you can do a) or b). And a) costs you influence.

a) One Local action
b) One executive action
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Beazer
United States
Orem
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good to know, I was doing this wrong!
I was doing both the location action and the executive action.

[Adding this to the list of many things I did wrong in the first play]
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Bach
United States
Rocky Hill
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
I'm Bach!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Since this seems to be a good thread to tack this question on to...

When you take the Location Action as a Kicked-out action, it is only the Location that you have been kicked out of that is available, correct? I think I did this incorrectly on my first "getting to know the rules" game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Gordy
United States
Eden Prairie
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can do one of the Location actions related to THE location from which you were kicked out. The key here is that the rules say THE location action, not A location action.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls