Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Victory in the Pacific» Forums » Rules

Subject: Capturing bases rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bradley Fletcher
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
Pretty sure I don't understand the rules on capturing bases, so here is an example for clarification: If the Japanese patrol the Central Pacific on turn 1, and the US doesn't contest it--does Midway flip to Japanese control? Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen A
United States
Brooklyn
NEW YORK
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think it takes two turns of patrolling control, to flip the base, not one, unless you use marines to capture the base.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leo Zappa
United States
Aliquippa
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It takes two turns of sea area control to flip bases. Or a Marine invasion can flip them immediately. Major ports, such as Pearl Harbor or Truk can not be taken by Marines.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
craig grinnell
United States
speer
Illinois
flag msg tools
Screaming Eagle and Damn Proud of it!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The easiest way to remember it is, if you have a control flag in the sea area at the start of the turn and still have it there at the end of the turn, then any bases/ports completely surrounded by that sea area become yours.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Blumentritt
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
If the Japanese patrol the Central Pacific on turn 1, and the US doesn't contest it--does Midway flip to Japanese control?[


No, because the Japanese did not control it at the start of T1. Since the Japanese will usually control the Central Pacific on T1, they should definitely always patrol at least 1 ship there on T2. Same logic with the Aleutian Islands.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.