Recommend
47 
 Thumb up
 Hide
87 Posts
1 , 2 , 3 , 4  Next »   | 

Fury of Dracula (Third/Fourth Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Unofficial FAQ rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: favorites [+] [View All]
Gabriel Cross
South Africa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Unofficial FURY of DRACULA (3rd Edition) FAQ

Full disclosure: I have not played the game nor the earlier editions. However, I am looking forward to getting this for Christmas and have read through the rules and the comments. There seemed to be a demand for a comprehensive FAQ due to all of the ambiguities and problems with the rules so I thought I’d try my hand at it. I am a lawyer (as well as a “rules-lawyer”) so I quite like rules. This is a collection of all the questions asked thus far and all the answers that people have give.

If you think I have gotten anything wrong please feel free to correct me in the comments.

Please also note that while I have tried to collate people’s questions and answers from the various threads thus far, there is a lot of repetition.

Hopefully, until an official FAQ comes out, this list is helpful to some of you.

COMBAT
At the end of combat, if nobody is defeated, do all the characters that were involved stay at the same location?
Yes, unless Dracula escaped as a Bat at night.

If yes and it happens to be Draculas turn next, can he immediately either attack, ambush with an encounter card, or does he have to simply move location?
After combat at dawn or dusk, it will always be the hunters' turns next. If Dracula is still in a hunter's location when it comes to his turn, Dracula can remain at the location by playing “Hide”, “Feed” or “Dark Call”, otherwise he must move away. If Dracula remains in the location, combat will then take place at dawn.

How does the Day Track and Combat work?
A hunter can (normally) only move by day. If he or she moves into a city containing Dracula he or she cannot combat Dracula until the time counter is moved to the "night" part of this phase. The combat with Dracula will therefore occur during "dusk." The remaining hunters will first each take their day action. When they have done so, the time counter is moved to night. Then combat occurs and it is considered night or dusk. When the combat is over, the hunters take their night action and then Dracula takes his turn.
If Dracula moves into a city with a hunter he normally does so during his move action at night meaning that the resulting combat will take place at dawn after the time counter has been moved to day.
One caveat to the above is that when a hunter ends his move in a city with an encounter card, Dracula has the option to ambush the hunter by revealing the encounter card. If he does so, the encounter card is resolved immediately and if this results in combat the combat will take place in whatever time of day it is (usually day). If Dracula declines to ambush, the hunter will have to spend an action searching if he wants to clear the hideout. If the search results in a combat from an encounter card, the combat will take place immediately in whatever time of the day it is when the search action occurs.

When Dracula uses “Escape as Mist”, does he stay at same location?
Yes. Nothing moves unless an effect specifically says so, for example Dracula escaping as a bat at night. Note that if the combat occurred at dusk, then Dracula could still move to another location on his next turn, rather than face a second combat at dawn.

What happens to a hunter/Dracula if they are removed/escape from combat?
Do both parties remain in the same city until the next turn? If so, and if neither party moves next turn, does combat begin again?
They would remain in the city unless the cards played do something else (like "Escape as a Bat" for Dracula). Dawn and dusk are the only times that combat (between Dracula and the hunters) occurs - and only combat happens at these times (with the exception of some events that key off this timing). So if nothing changes around those phases, combat would start again. But hunters can move off at day time and Dracula can move during the night phase so players have the opportunity to change the situation before each dawn and dusk.

If a hunter escapes from combat with Dracula does the hunter move to a different location?
No. Instead of escaping, the game uses the term 'removed from combat'. It clearly indicates that the hunter does not go to another city, just that he is out of the combat.

Please explain combat timing and the Day/Night cycle?
Example 1: It's day time. One hunter moves and happens to arrive at Dracula's location. Dracula and the location card are revealed and Dracula may ambush the hunter with any encounter cards at the location. The remaining hunters then take their daytime action before the combat with Dracula occurs. Combat with Dracula takes place at dusk. Dusk equates to night abilities on cards.
Example 2: It’s night time. Dracula moves onto a location with a hunter and is revealed. Combat with Dracula takes place at dawn. Dawn equates to day abilities on cards.
Dawn and dusk were introduced to make the timing of combat very specific and very clear. Following the rules for dawn and dusk literally should resolve the majority of concerns.

If a hunter simply stays in a location with revealed vampire cards, must they also fight again at the next dawn or dusk?
No, they will only be combat if the hunter takes a search action or if a hunter moves into the location and Dracula chooses to ambush.

Do round one's combat cards’ symbols affect round two?
No.

Please explain how the hunter plays and picks up combat cards?
Hunters will play 1 card from their hand in the first round of combat. In the second round, hunters play another card from their hand and at the end of the second round they will pick up the first card that they played on the previous round. In the third round, hunters will play a combat card from their hand and at the end of the round they pick up the card that they played in the second round.

Please explain how Dracula plays and draws combat cards?
Dracula starts combat with five combat cards in hand drawn from his deck of combat cards. Dracula will play 1 combat card from his hand in the every round of combat. The cards that he plays will stay on the table. The card that he plays in each round is turned facedown at the end of each round (or earlier if it was cancelled by the hunter’s combat card). The number of Dracula’s played combat cards help you keep track of which round of combat you are in. Dracula will draw a new combat card from his deck of combat cards at the end of every round so that he always has five combat cards in his hand.
One of the ways that combat can end is if Dracula has played six combat cards. Combat will end immediately if it hasn’t already at the end of the sixth round of combat – i.e. after Dracula has played a sixth combat card and that round of combat has been resolved.

Does Combat last five rounds or six?
Combat ends after six rounds. Dracula starts combat with a hand of five combat cards. Dracula’s played combat cards remain facedown on the table after each round of combat so that one can keep track of how many rounds have been played. Dracula draws a new combat card after each round so he always has 5 to choose from. After combat is finished, return Dracula’s combat cards that were in his hand and that were placed facedown to Dracula’s combat card deck and shuffle them (the “Escape as Bat” and “Escape as Mist” combat cards are exceptions to this).

The rules say that combat ends if all hunters involved in the combat are bitten. Does Mina's permanent bite count towards this? What if Van Helsing was bitten on a previous occasion?
If a hunter is mesmerized, and Dracula plays “Fangs”, he bites them and they are removed from combat. If Dracula bites Mina in this manner, she doesn't have a place to put a fangs token as she is already bitten and so she is defeated. If Dracula bites any other hunter after they have been mesmerized, they are removed from combat and they get a fangs token. If they don't have a place to place the fangs token (i.e. it is Van Helsing's third bite), then the hunter is defeated.

If a hunter moves into a location on Dracula’s trail during the day and after revealing the location card, Dracula chooses to ambush the hunter with a vampire encounter card, when does the combat take place?
The ambush happens at daytime and takes place immediately. If the encounter is a vampire then the fight is fought under daylight conditions.

When is combat initiated with a revealed vampire? For example, a hunter is ambushed by a vampire upon entering Paris, during the day. He escapes the combat and stays in Paris. Do the hunter and vampire have to fight again at dusk, or is it the hunter's choice to initiate the combat? Does a hunter who enters Paris have to immediately fight the vampire, choose to fight or not, or have to fight during dusk or dawn?
The combat takes place immediately when the hunter moves into Paris. This combat takes place during the day. There is no further combat at dusk. There will be another combat if a hunter searches the location later or if a hunter later moves to the location at which point Dracula may declare an ambush if he wishes. That combat takes place immediately during day or night as appropriate.

Does the vampire encounter card go back to being facedown?
No, it remains face up.

If a hunter is in a city and searches and finds a vampire and they battle and the hunter is mesmerized and the vampire play fangs and the hunter takes the bite and the hunter is removed from battle when do they start attacking again?
If the hunter had no prior bite marker on their card, the combat ends unless it had multiple hunters, in which case the combat continues with the remaining hunters.
As the question refers to a vampire encounter initiated by a search action, the combat will be taking place on the hunter's turn at night (the bite wouldn't occur during day), so it will be followed by the next hunter's turn (or Dracula's turn if Mina was the hunter searching). There is no further combat at dawn or dusk, although further combat may happen due to an ambush or a later search.
If the Hunter already had a bite marker when they were bitten they become defeated. The hunter goes to the nearest hospital at the next dawn (the figure is off the board until then). It is only Dracula's choice of hospital if there is a tie for nearest.

Do wounds on vampire encounters remain after combat?
When a vampire is defeated, its encounter card is discarded. If combat ends without the vampire being defeated, the damage that it suffered remains on the card.

If a hunter is mesmerized, does it cancel all subsequent combat cards or only those played the turn that mesmerize is played?
It only cancels the hunter’s combat card that it is played against (assuming that that card didn’t cancel Mesmerise first). The ongoing effect of Mesmerise is that it reduces damage from the hunter’s weapon cards. If all subsequent cards were cancelled then there would be no damage to reduce.

How does Dracula’s “Pride” ability work when there are no Despair tokens on the board?
The “Pride” rule states that Dracula cannot use his “Escape as Bat” or “Escape as Mist” combat cards until he has played a number of combat cards greater than the number of Despair tokens. The rule should say “already played” to be clearer. If there are no Despair tokens on the board, Dracula can only play his “Escape as Bat” or “Escape as Mist” combat cards on the second or a later round of the combat (i.e. when there is at least one combat card already played from a previous round). If there is only one Despair token on the board, Dracula can only escape on the third or later round of combat.

When Dracula flips Plotting facedown to cancel Dodge, Punch, or Escape, does this cancel the combat icons on the hunter's card, or just the text? More precisely: in terms of timing, is there a window for Dracula to cancel with Plotting after Reveal Combat Cards and before Combat Icons?
There is a window for Dracula to cancel a card with Plotting after "Reveal Combat Cards" and before "Compare Combat Icons." If a card is cancelled with Plotting, it is flipped facedown and all text and icons on it are ignored.

If a hunter moves to Dracula’s location and escapes from the combat that takes place at dusk, does the hunter get a normal action at night before Dracula can move?
The hunter would take his night action, which can be anything except moving, so he stays in the city. Than Dracula takes his movement and encounter phase. If Dracula moves away to another city then dawn finds them at different places, so no combat occurs. If Dracula stays in the location (by playing “Dark Call”, “Feed” or “Hide”) then combat occurs at dawn, under daylight conditions.

MISPRINTS
Can hunters trade event cards (not through Van Helsing's Leader ability)?
With the trade action, hunters can trade item cards and ticket tokens and cannot trade event cards. Event cards can only be traded using Van Helsing's ability. Also note that when trading using that ability only event cards can be traded, not items or tickets.

What can be traded with the trade action?
The turn summary on the back of the RRG says the trade actions allows trading of event cards. This is in correct. Hunters can only trade items and train tickets using the trade action.

Can Van Helsing trade item cards and/or train tickets?
Van Helsing’s leader ability allows him to trade event cards with a hunter on any city on the board. The two hunters can share information as normal; however, they can only trade event cards. They cannot trade item cards or ticket tokens. However, Van Helsing can use the normal trade action with a hunter in his location. Thus Van Helsing could use his leader ability to trade event cards with a hunter on any city or he could use the normal trade action to trade item cards and/or tickets with a hunter at the same location as him.

Is there a misprint on the Aristocratic Vampire encounter card?
On page 9 of the manual it says that matured vampires can increase the influence track by three, four, or five. This is a typo and it should read “Maturing a vampire encounter card advances the track by three or four depending on the card." The New Vampire does it by 3. The Reckless Vampire and Aristocratic Vampire both do it by 4.

What is the correct amount of damage Dracula takes using Wolf Form?
One damage. The reference guide where it says two damage is incorrect.

What is the “Aggressive Vampire”?
The reference to an "Aggressive Vampire" under the combat section of the reference guide should be a reference to the "Reckless Vampire".

Can Lord Godalming draw multiple tickets if he already has one?
Lord Godalming draws each ticket one at a time. If he starts with one ticket, he draws a second ticket and then must discard one of those two to draw another.

HUNTERS
Do hunters who take the supply action always have to draw an event card if they want to draw an item card in a large city?
Yes. When a hunter performs a supply action, he or she draws an event card and possibly an item card. If he or she is on a large city, the hunter draws an item card from the top of the item deck and puts the card into his or her hand of item cards. If it is during the day and the top card of the event deck shows a hunter icon, the hunter draws it. If it is during the day and the top card of the event deck shows a Dracula icon, it is discarded facedown. At night, the hunter takes the bottom card of the event deck. If it is a hunter event card, the hunter draws it into his or her hand. If it is a Dracula event card, Dracula draws it.

Can a Hunter choose the supply action in a small town?
Yes, but you don't get to draw an item card.

What is the benefit to a hunter searching a city? Isn't the only thing they can find one of Dracula's encounters? Aren't those encounters always negative for a hunter?
The main way for Dracula to win is to mature vampires for influence. But vampires are relatively weak. So Dracula will not usually ambush with them as he is just risking them getting defeated. So the hunters need to search in those locations to finish them off. Of course, Dracula may not ambush with a different card just so the hunter wastes an action searching and ends up fighting a non-vampire encounter anyway. In addition, as much of a negative as they may be for the hunter, they are usually a greater negative when matured. So even if they are not vampires, the hunters are still dealing with the lesser of two evils when searching.

If a hunter plays “Newspaper Reports” immediately and the third space on the trail is Feed/Dark Call/Hide, must Dracula reveal the associated location?
Dark Call and Feed do not associate with a location. When Hide is revealed, the associated location with Hide is also revealed.

Similarly, if the sixth space on the trail is Feed/Dark Call/Hide and a hunter moves onto the associated location, must Dracula reveal anything?
The rules state that if the associated location is revealed, then Hide is also revealed. Feed and Dark Call are always revealed anyway since they have different card backs. The rules state that the Hide card is associated with the previous location until that location falls off the trail, so if Hide is in the 6th spot, it is blank because it is not associated with anything anymore.

Since defeated hunters move to the nearest hospital (measured by roads) at dawn, do you ignore the that the hunter may not be able to get to the hospital via roads (e.g., if he's in Brittania)?
Yes, you ignore this. They rules specifically state that Madrid is the hospital for Brittania while Rome is the hospital for Cagliari.

Can hunters die?
No. hunters never die. They can only be defeated.

Can a hunter choose to pass as an action?
Yes. It's in the Rules Reference, page 3, under Actions.

Can a hunter perform a supply action when he or she already has a full hand of item and/or event cards? If performed in a large city, would he or she then discard down to his or her hand size limit?
Yes and yes. Though there is no entry for item cards in the Reference guide. Under event cards the rules state that 'If a player draws an event card that would cause him to exceed his hand limit, he may play one or more of his event cards obeying the timing text. Then he must discard down to his hand limit.' It is suggested that the same is applied to item cards.

If a hunter is in a city which has an unrevealed encounter card (unrevealed because Dracula chose not to reveal it when the hunter moved into the city), and the hunter chooses to do something other than move or search, thus remaining in the city, can Dracula then Ambush the hunter?
The rules as written are not clear. They state that if Dracula chooses not to ambush, then the encounter card remains unrevealed and Dracula may ambush in the future when a hunter ends his movement on that location. Ambushing with an encounter card is a one-time opportunity whenever a hunter ends his or her movement in that location. After that, it is up to the hunter searching to trigger the encounter (or another hunter ending in that location so that Dracula can elect to ambush).

If a hunter locates Dracula during a move action, what happens to the encounter card on that location?
Dracula can choose to ambush the hunter, in which case the card is revealed and resolved. If combat occurs in the resolution of the card, it takes place immediately. If Dracula chooses not to ambush the hunter, the encounter card is not revealed and remains face down – though the location card is of course revealed.

Can hunters only move by day?
Hunters can only perform move actions during the day. This means that the only time that a hunter may move is during the day. However, hunters can choose any available action and do not have to move during the day. If a hunter is at sea during the day, then he or she must move as his or her day action. If a hunter is at sea at night, the hunter must pass.

DRACULA
If you ambush with a vampire, do you have to discard them after ambush is over if they don't die?
No, you do not discard them. They stay on the hideout, along with any damage they took. Unless they are killed by the hunters (or cleared out for some reason) they will continue on and mature when the hideout is pushed off the track. It's in the interest of the hunters to kill them to prevent Dracula's influence from increasing when they mature.

Are power cards available to Dracula again after they slide off the trail, or are they discarded?
They are available again to Dracula when they slide off the trail.

When a non-vampiric encounter card that is maturable is revealed and resolved during a search before it can mature, is it then discarded?
It is discarded unless otherwise stated on the card (such as on the “Saboteur” card). See page 12 of the Learn to Play under Ambushing.

Do vampire encounters mature if they remain undefeated after they are revealed?
Vampires are different in that they remain in play until they are defeated, discarded, or matured. So if they are not defeated and still on the location card when it falls off the sixth space of the trail, the vampire card can mature. They remain revealed.

Are location cards that fall off the trail revealed if Dracula matures the encounter card?
There is nothing in the rules that says they must be revealed so ... No.

What happens if Dracula makes an honest mistake?
See Dracula Errors on page 7 of the Rules Reference. Dracula reveals his current location, clears all hideouts and suffers five damage.

What happens to power cards when a hideout is cleared? Does Dracula get them back or are they discarded?
The power cards are returned to the location deck. Dracula get them back.

I know encounter cards are discarded when Dracula uses them to ambush, but what about when the hunters search?
The assumption is they are discarded unless the card says they stay (like Saboteur) or if they are Vampires.

When cards in a hideout leave the trail, does Dracula have to show the hunters the encounter card that is being matured?
Yes. At that point it is discarded anyway and there is no reason to keep it hidden.

Can Dracula pass on his turn? Does he have to move?
On his turn, Dracula must place a card on the trail. He can stay in the same location by using a power card though. Dracula cannot pass. If Dracula can't move, he has done something wrong or has trapped himself and faces the "error" penalty.

Is it possible that the first space on the Trail can be left empty?
No.

If multiple players end their movement in Dracula's location, can Dracula ambush all of them assuming he has enough encounter cards in that hideout?
An ambush occurs immediately once a hunter ends his movement so it shouldn't happen that they all get resolved at once. Most encounters are discarded after they resolve unless specifically stated that they remain (or if they are a vampire that is not defeated). So if that card remains, it could be used to ambush the next hunter that ends his or her move at the location. Or if Dracula happens to have more than one encounter card at the location, he can use each of them as new hunters move in.

What is the point of “Misdirect”?
It allows Dracula to clear a hideout on the trail. This puts that location card back into his hand so that he can play it into the first slot again if he wants. It also breaks the trail and potentially causes confusion if the hunters pick up the location on either side of the “Misdirect” card. It replaces the "Double back" card of the 2nd edition that gave Dracula the option of looping back around or getting himself out of an accidental dead end.

Does Dracula have a hand-limit of encounter cards?
No. Dracula starts the game with five encounter cards in hand. If Dracula ever has fewer than five encounter cards in his hand, he draws encounter cards from the top of his encounter deck until he has five cards in his hand. Dracula can have more than five encounter cards in his hand.

What are all the ways that Dracula can gain influence points?
Dracula wins the game by advancing the influence track to space “13.” He can advance the influence track in several ways, as follows:
- Maturing a vampire encounter card advances the track by three or four depending on the card (or more if a rumour token was placed on the relevant hideout);
- Resolving the “Fangs” combat card advances the track by one;
- Defeating a hunter advances the track by two, plus one for each despair token on the board; and
- If all three despair tokens are on the time track when Dracula chooses a city location card, he advances the influence track by three.

Does Dracula earn 3 Influence almost every turn starting at the beginning of week 3?
The rule is clear on Dracula's character card. Influence will advance by 3 every time Dracula plays a city location card or the “Hide” card once there are three despair tokens on the time track.

When does Dracula stop being revealed?
Dracula is revealed when his current location is revealed by any means, including by him moving to a hunter's space. He is no longer revealed when he moves to some other unrevealed location not occupied by a hunter. The Dracula miniature is removed from its previous location and placed back on the spot above the first location card on the trail.

Does Dracula reshuffle the discard pile of Encounter cards to form a new Encounter Deck if it ever runs out?
Yes.

What's the point of lairs?
Essentially they are mega traps. You can't normally place more than one encounter cards at a single location except by the use of certain encounter cards and by making lairs. By making a hideout into a lair, you get to place an additional encounter card on it. If Dracula moves to the lair, it is placed back on the trail and a further encounter card can be placed on it.

How does the “Unnatural Fog” encounter card and the fog tokens work?
Dracula places a fog token on the city when the encounter card is revealed. If it is a port, he places a second fog token and both fog tokens must be played in the same port city. At the end each dusk, one fog token is removed from each city on the board that has at least one fog token. The effects of a fog token are:
- Hunters cannot move or be moved in a way that would cause them to enter, leave, or pass through a city that contains a fog token;
- If it is day, each hunter on this city becomes delayed;
- If a city contains a fog token, hunters cannot perform search actions in a city that has a fog token;
- At dawn or dusk, if Dracula is in a city with a hunter and a fog token, Dracula may choose not to start combat in that city containing a fog token.

GENERAL
In respect of movement at sea, can you move to the sea zones that you've already visited during the current sea voyage and can you return to the port where your sea journey started?
Yes to both if you are a hunter. Dracula cannot go to a location that is on his trail so he could only double back by playing the “Misdirect” card or if the location falls off or is otherwise removed from the trail.

When the “Long Night” event card was played and the hunters moved during the night to Dracula’s city location, does combat only occur with Dracula in the next dawn phase if Dracula stays in the same location after his movement step?
Yes, Dracula gets to move away before combat can take place. By moving onto the location, the hunters’ reveal Dracula and the hideout location card on the trail. Dracula could (optionally) trigger any encounters there as an ambush. Then Dracula would have his turn (still night), which could be a move to another location. If he stayed at that location by playing the appropriate power card, there would be a combat at dawn.

If a hunter was defeated on the turn before the “Long Night” event card was played, could the hunter choose the (modified) supply action during the day and then move from the Hospital to the adjoining city at night?
I would say yes since the hospital space is considered to be adjacent to the location attached to that hospital and road movement is a movement to an adjacent city.

Finally, my own question: If a hunter chooses the supply action during the day and the top card on the event deck shows the Dracula symbol, this card is discarded facedown. Does the hunter get to draw the next event card if it is a hunter card?
I assume the answer is "no".
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Stair
United States
Macon Area
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks I had started to do this last night and was going to finish it today.
Thanks you Gabriel
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Turner
United Kingdom
Farnham
Surrey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nice. Now to put it is a nice format in the files section!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark L
United Kingdom
Belfast
Northern Ireland
flag msg tools
badge
All hail Xipuloxx the Unsound!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for this! It's certainly exhaustive, but I feel it's a bit too much so; in a number of places 2 or more questions could be collapsed into one.

Also a number of them are really explained pretty clearly in trhe rules, but I know how easy it is to miss even obvious things, so I'm not sure that's a reason to exclude them!

StupidGabe wrote:
Finally, my own question: If a hunter chooses the supply action during the day and the top card on the event deck shows the Dracula symbol, this card is discarded facedown. Does the hunter get to draw the next event card if it is a hunter card?
I assume the answer is "no".
I think the answer is pretty clearly "no". The rules say you "take a card" and tell you what happens depending on whether it's a Hunter card or a Dracula card. They do not say you get to take a second.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Morris
United States
Raytown
Missouri
flag msg tools
2nd, 6th and 7th Wisconsin, 19th Indiana, 24th Michigan
badge
24th Michigan Monument Gettysburg Pa
Avatar
Microbadge: I'm sorry, Dave, I'm afraid I can't do that...Microbadge: Jack in the Box fanMicrobadge: JugglerMicrobadge: This is a mooseover.Microbadge: Panda Express lover
StupidGabe wrote:
In respect of movement at sea, can you move to the sea zones that you've already visited during the current sea voyage and can you return to the port where your sea journey started?
Yes to both if you are a hunter. Dracula cannot go to a location that is on his trail so he could only double back by playing the “Misdirect” card or if the location falls off or is otherwise removed from the trail.
You sure on this? This is contrary to the specific rule in the second edition and I believe the first edition as well. The hunters are considered to be on a ship voyage. They can not double back until they have made port of some kind. They also can not double back to the same port they departed from.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Chaplin
United Kingdom
Nottingham
Ice-choked tower, Mondavia, Nanglangka.
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mrbeankc wrote:
StupidGabe wrote:
In respect of movement at sea, can you move to the sea zones that you've already visited during the current sea voyage and can you return to the port where your sea journey started?
Yes to both if you are a hunter. Dracula cannot go to a location that is on his trail so he could only double back by playing the “Misdirect” card or if the location falls off or is otherwise removed from the trail.
You sure on this? This is contrary to the specific rule in the second edition and I believe the first edition as well. The hunters are considered to be on a ship voyage. They can not double back until they have made port of some kind. They also can not double back to the same port they departed from.
I can't find anything in this new edition that says that you cannot doubleback via sea movement.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Morris
United States
Raytown
Missouri
flag msg tools
2nd, 6th and 7th Wisconsin, 19th Indiana, 24th Michigan
badge
24th Michigan Monument Gettysburg Pa
Avatar
Microbadge: I'm sorry, Dave, I'm afraid I can't do that...Microbadge: Jack in the Box fanMicrobadge: JugglerMicrobadge: This is a mooseover.Microbadge: Panda Express lover
It makes no thematic sense (ships don't just turn around mid ocean voyage because a crazy passenger claims he needs to go back to Liverpool to kill the undead) and is contrary to the rules in previous editions. It makes no sense that you should suddenly be able to do so in this edition. This to me seems like an omission error in the new rulebook.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Chaplin
United Kingdom
Nottingham
Ice-choked tower, Mondavia, Nanglangka.
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mrbeankc wrote:
It makes no thematic sense (ships don't just turn around mid ocean voyage because a crazy passenger claims he needs to go back to Liverpool to kill the undead) and is contrary to the rules in previous editions. It makes no sense that you should suddenly be able to do so in this edition. This to me seems like an omission error in the new rulebook.
They seem to be aiming for a cleaner design. It could be argued that keeping track of where you departed is an extra plate to spin (however small).

This omission (probably deliberate) diminishes the theme to a very minor degree, I think.


2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Morris
United States
Raytown
Missouri
flag msg tools
2nd, 6th and 7th Wisconsin, 19th Indiana, 24th Michigan
badge
24th Michigan Monument Gettysburg Pa
Avatar
Microbadge: I'm sorry, Dave, I'm afraid I can't do that...Microbadge: Jack in the Box fanMicrobadge: JugglerMicrobadge: This is a mooseover.Microbadge: Panda Express lover
In my 30 years of playing this game I can not think of a single time anyone couldn't remember where they were the turn before. I think if you can't remember what port you departed from the game might be a bit hard for you.

Seriously though, I think it should not simply be assumed that a rule that has been in place in both the first and second editions and thus for 30 years has simply been omitted deliberately (especially considering the mistakes and omissions already in the new rules). I think this is one that needs to be considered an open question until we see something official on it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randal Divinski
United States
Natick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yugblad wrote:
mrbeankc wrote:
StupidGabe wrote:
In respect of movement at sea, can you move to the sea zones that you've already visited during the current sea voyage and can you return to the port where your sea journey started?
Yes to both if you are a hunter. Dracula cannot go to a location that is on his trail so he could only double back by playing the “Misdirect” card or if the location falls off or is otherwise removed from the trail.
You sure on this? This is contrary to the specific rule in the second edition and I believe the first edition as well. The hunters are considered to be on a ship voyage. They can not double back until they have made port of some kind. They also can not double back to the same port they departed from.
I can't find anything in this new edition that says that you cannot doubleback via sea movement.
I also thought I had read something about no doubling-back, but I just rechecked HTP/RR rules, and there is no prohibition.

However a hunter at sea must move on his day turn to an adjacent location -- he cannot pass and stay in the same location. [RR11, Movement/Sea] (At night, he must pass, since no actions are possible.)

And the fact that "must move" is specified but direction is not is a strong inference that doubling-back is allowed.

As far as theme, while ships don't normally turn back, if we were to embrace the theme fully the ship's destination should be determined at the onset. That is: written down, revealed by hunter on landing, and placed under disembark location by Dracula. (That might be an interesting "house rule", but it is easy to see why a game designer might not want to add it.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randal Divinski
United States
Natick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
StupidGabe wrote:

Can a hunter choose to pass as an action?
Yes. It's in the Rules Reference, page 3, under Actions.
This needs a caveat for sea movement.
Also, I would suggest a standard abbreviation for reference purposes:
LTP for "Learn To Play" and RR for "Rules Reference" followed by a # for page number, and when appropriate, the Section name where the rule occurs.

So, in this case, I would change your answer to:

Can a hunter choose to pass as an action?
Yes [RR3,Actions], with one exception: a hunter at sea during the day must move to an adjacent location. [RR11,Movement/Sea]

P.S. I see that the FAQ has a second entry with the sea movement caveat.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randal Divinski
United States
Natick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For the "Can hunters only move by day?" type questions, it might be noted that there is an Event Card ("Long Night") that allows hunters to move at night for one turn only.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Stair
United States
Macon Area
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Only Hunters can double back but Dracula Cannot
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Stair
United States
Macon Area
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is also 1 more action thats not on the card for what hunters can do.

Delayed
Some game effects can cause a hunter to become delayed. When a hunter becomes delayed, that hunter’s figure is placed on its side.
† A delayed hunter must stand his figure upright instead of performing his next action. Then, he is no longer delayed.
† If a delayed hunter is on Dracula’s current location, he participates in the combat.
† If a delayed hunter would become delayed again, there is no effect.
† If a card effect allows a hunter to choose to become delayed, a delayed hunter cannot choose to resolve that effect.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alastair Muir
United Kingdom
Trowbridge
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
Not sure if this qualifies as FAQ material but I'd like clarification and this seems like the place to get it With the Bats encounter card, if the Hunter moves to the location during day and Dracula ambushes with Bats, can the Hunter be forced to move at night? IIRC the rules for Bats state that the next time the Hunter has an opportunity to take an action then Dracula can move the Hunter; would this override the usual daytime movement limitation on the Hunter?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Stair
United States
Macon Area
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes you would have to move him at night this Ambush over rules the hunters moving at night rule.

Bats Token
Dracula’s “Bats” encounter card allows him to place one bats token under a hunter’s figure on the board.
† The bats token functions as a reminder that Dracula can move that hunter to an adjacent city during that hunter’s next action.
† When Dracula moves a hunter using his “Bats” card, he moves that hunter instead of the hunter performing his action as normal.
» If a hunter has a bats token underneath his figure and he is delayed, that hunter stands his figure upright during his next action as normal. Then, Dracula moves the hunter to an adjacent city during the hunter’s next action after he is no longer delayed.
» If a hunter has a bats token underneath his figure and he cannot move because he is on a city that has one or more fog tokens, Dracula moves the hunter to an adjacent city during the hunter’s next action during which that hunter can move.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randal Divinski
United States
Natick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dstair2002 wrote:
Only Hunters can double back but Dracula Cannot
That is the effect of how the trail is laid, rather than a separate rule.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Stair
United States
Macon Area
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
He could use Misdirect at sea and and clear the port he left from and go back to it.

While Dracula’s current location is a sea zone, he cannot play “Feed,” “Dark Call,” or “Hide.” He can play “Misdirect” as normal, and he can play “Wolf Form” to move to an adjacent port or a city one road away from an adjacent port.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Morris
United States
Raytown
Missouri
flag msg tools
2nd, 6th and 7th Wisconsin, 19th Indiana, 24th Michigan
badge
24th Michigan Monument Gettysburg Pa
Avatar
Microbadge: I'm sorry, Dave, I'm afraid I can't do that...Microbadge: Jack in the Box fanMicrobadge: JugglerMicrobadge: This is a mooseover.Microbadge: Panda Express lover
The_Almo wrote:
Not sure if this qualifies as FAQ material but I'd like clarification and this seems like the place to get it With the Bats encounter card, if the Hunter moves to the location during day and Dracula ambushes with Bats, can the Hunter be forced to move at night? IIRC the rules for Bats state that the next time the Hunter has an opportunity to take an action then Dracula can move the Hunter; would this override the usual daytime movement limitation on the Hunter?
The hunter as you say and as per the golden rule would be moved during his next chance to take an action which would be the night phase. This is one of the spots in the rules where the addition of a simple sentence could have been used for clarification.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Smales
United States
Rome
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Colonel Peter Gansevoort (1749 – 1812) Defender of Ft. Stanwix, Rome, N.Y., 1777
Avatar
Microbadge: Evolution of a GeekMicrobadge: Evolution of a GeekMicrobadge: Evolution of a GeekMicrobadge: Evolution of a GeekMicrobadge: Game Elitist
Looking for the basics--wowI would appreciate any existing Reference Guide and Learn to Play manual errata by page number.

I don't need the rules clarifications posted here yet--just the corrections. Any card errata would also be appreciated.

I'm sure FFG will be publishing this on their website eventually, but this information would come in handy to new players who don't need the references to the changes from 2nd edition, etc. --cool

Thank you

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Morris
United States
Raytown
Missouri
flag msg tools
2nd, 6th and 7th Wisconsin, 19th Indiana, 24th Michigan
badge
24th Michigan Monument Gettysburg Pa
Avatar
Microbadge: I'm sorry, Dave, I'm afraid I can't do that...Microbadge: Jack in the Box fanMicrobadge: JugglerMicrobadge: This is a mooseover.Microbadge: Panda Express lover
Rhand wrote:
I don't need the rules clarifications posted here yet--just the corrections. Any card errata would also be appreciated.
You make a good point. There is a difference between FAQ and errata. One clarifies while the other corrects errors. Most of the time these are presented separately. Either in two separate documents or two parts of the same document.

With a lot of the rule clarifications of FAQ we simply can't be sure. The rule on the hunters backtracking at sea for example discussed about above is an example. Is this a change from the previous editions or an error in forgetting to include it in the new edition rules? I think it's the latter but some think it's the former. Until we hear officially you can't say definitively one way or the other.

What one might do (I've seen this done before) is list these clarifications as sort of a question and then fill in the blank so to speak when there is confirmation on the question. Perhaps do a separate thread for clarifications and for errata.

1 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Darrin
United States
Orlando
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Cartoon Network Adult Swim fanMicrobadge: Rick and Morty fanMicrobadge: "The Universe, what a concept."Microbadge: "Rip didle-ip dip dip dip it's your birthday!"Microbadge: "For your health!"
A pretty lengthy and exhaustive FAQ for a game that just hit the shelves. Thanks for the great work. Its much appreciated.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Galaxy is Just Packed!
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Clammy721 wrote:
A pretty lengthy and exhaustive FAQ for a game that just hit the shelves. Thanks for the great work. Its much appreciated.
Agreed! The Rule References for Eldritch Horror and Forbidden Stars are so excellent - practically flawless - which makes this one so disappointing.

(But don't let that stop you from getting this excellent new edition!)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Samy
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
Chaaaarge!!
badge
First Image Ever of a Hydrogen Atom's Electron Cloud
Avatar
Microbadge: I play DiplomacyMicrobadge: Race for the Galaxy fanMicrobadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level I - One small step for geek... One giant leap for geek-kind!Microbadge: Pandemic: Rising Tide fanMicrobadge: Terraforming Mars fan
I think the answer for Dawn/Dusk and combat timing actually makes things less clear. At one point it states

Quote:
Example 2: It’s night time. Dracula moves onto a location with a hunter and is revealed. Combat with Dracula takes place at dawn. Dawn equates to day abilities on cards.
but actually, according to the rules, nothing happens *during* Dawn, or *during* Dusk, it happens *after* Dawn/Dusk. The reference book even states that for events that state they happen at Dawn/Dusk, the card is actually player *after* Dawn/Dusk. And for the combat above, it actually happens during the Day, that's why the Day combat abilities apply.

Dawn/Dusk is not an actual phase of time, it is literally just the step where you advance the time marker. Thinking about it like this, which the rules imply strongly but don't go right out and say, is actually a much clearer way to think about it.

I think you could probably rename Dusk/Dawn to "Time Advance Step" and it would be clearer... Or even simpler, refer the "end" or "beginning" of the Night or Day. A detailed turn sequence can also help.

EDIT: OK, so my comments are not quite right in that the rules are stated a little differently, but I definitely think it's easier understand it this way (and it produces the same result).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Morris
United States
Raytown
Missouri
flag msg tools
2nd, 6th and 7th Wisconsin, 19th Indiana, 24th Michigan
badge
24th Michigan Monument Gettysburg Pa
Avatar
Microbadge: I'm sorry, Dave, I'm afraid I can't do that...Microbadge: Jack in the Box fanMicrobadge: JugglerMicrobadge: This is a mooseover.Microbadge: Panda Express lover
The main purpose of dawn and dusk is for there to be a time in the turn sequence when the hunters and Dracula do combat. If Dracula moves into a hunter's location on his night turn they do combat at dawn. When the hunter moves into Dracula's location in the day the combat takes place at dusk. It's not just the step where you advance the time markers.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2 , 3 , 4  Next »   |