Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
The question that keeps getting asked is 'why doesn't the guy with the most points win, like all the other games? I just did a rudimentary search on BGG for 3 and 4 player games and there are 50 electronic pages of games (5000 titles) that basically play this way, so if folks want their regular experience, lots of choices, but I did not want to add one more to the list.

First and foremost I am an historical boardgame designer. Not a historical themed boardgame designer. If you are in a military alliance and all you do is run over your Allies the historical precedent is your former partners will ally against you. Review Napoleon's modis operandi to see what I am talking about.

The victory conditions are designed to reflect this historical alliance attitude and structure. You are not held to it as you can just go for the 'get the most VPs strategy', and extend the WWII struggle for national gain that would create the narrative for WWIII. So, its included as it was a serious possibility if some of the Big Three fell off of unconditional surrender which is an American not a European concept.

A key design element is I wanted players not only to cooperate to win WWII, but I wanted them to have strategic options whether it would be an unconditional or conditional victory and how that impacted the peace that may or may not follow.