Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Pirates of the 7 Seas» Forums » Rules

Subject: Governor character rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dominique Cortens
Belgium
Diest
Vlaams-Brabant
flag msg tools
What's the advantage of playing the governor? Yes, you get all your ships in the reserve for free but you get punished later in the game with a lot of minus points. Did I miss something?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sascha Bötzel
Germany
Schwerte
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ahoi matey,
No you don't miss anything. Playing the governor is risky, because you will get a black mark, if you are not the only player. Besides, you have to pick an alliance and every time a convoi of that country is attacked, you get a black mark as well.
On the other hand - let's say you get two black marks for playing the governor, than you are positive, if you get at least seven of your ships back...

Cheers

Sascha
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oleksandr Nevskiy
Ukraine
Khmelnitsky
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi.

You may use the governor:

1. You do not have enough money to buy ships.

2. you "noticed" that all the caravans of the same country were played (for each country there are only 4 caravan cards), and there are 3 or more ships in reserve, which you want to get.

3. You have already got a black mark and you own the first player marker - so you could get rid of the black mark.

But we can’t actually say on behalf of real pirates. Perhaps they would rather choose to lose the game than serve to somebody.

It is up to you. To be or not to be. Even great Shakespeare was not sure 100% about this option.

Regards,
IGAMES
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dominique Cortens
Belgium
Diest
Vlaams-Brabant
flag msg tools
Thanks for the quick response, guys!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Heike Pohl
msg tools
mbmb
But it is correct that I cant get rid of that mark, because in a 2player game the effect of the First player isnt allowed?

Heike
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oleksandr Nevskiy
Ukraine
Khmelnitsky
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Raider84 wrote:
But it is correct that I cant get rid of that mark, because in a 2player game the effect of the First player isnt allowed?

Heike
Hi, Heike.

Yes, that’s right. In a 2 player game it’s just impossible to get rid of a Black Spot.

Regards,
IGames
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls