Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Advanced Squad Leader» Forums » Rules

Subject: Continuous Bypass rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Strix Aluco
msg tools
mbmbmb
Hi,

Got a bit puzzled by the bypass rule for infantry and hoping you could help out. Could the 7-4-7 in 3AA6 bypass both woods hexes (3AA7-3AA8) and reach 3AA9 using 3 MF? Would seem logical but can't find any support in the RB. What say you?

Thanks! /M


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tuukka
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes it can. There are two contiguous hexsides in AA7 and AA8 each, which is normal 1MF bypass. (If for example the unit would start movement from BB6 and bypass AA7 and AA8 to AA9, it would have to pay 2MFs for AA7, because that bypass would exceed the two contiguous hexsides rule.)

Quote:
A4.31...Bypass may consist of one or two contiguous unblocked hexsides of the building or woods hex being traversed. Bypass may exceed two contiguous unblocked hexsides per hex, but in so doing the Bypass cost for that hex is doubled.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Stewart
United States
Visalia
California
flag msg tools
badge
It's sooo Hot out here...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Typo I think...contig vs contin


Note there must be a gap to bypass. AA7 BB8 isn't bypassable in your pic...it think the coordinates are accurate.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Strix Aluco
msg tools
mbmbmb
The RB is a bit vague as it considers only one hex (not hexes), even in the example.

I've been playing it your way so thanks Tuukka for backing it up!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Strix Aluco
msg tools
mbmbmb
ASLChampion wrote:
Typo I think...contig vs contin

Contiguous is actually correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls