Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Grizzled» Forums » Rules

Subject: Use a speech to discard a hard knock rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Luke Richison
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
Microbadge: Lyssan fanMicrobadge: Unita  fanMicrobadge: King of Tiger Heart fanMicrobadge: Eight-Minute Empire fanMicrobadge: Stonemaier Champion
Are you allowed to discard a hard knock with a matching threat when a speech is given?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Miller
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
Microbadge: Brass fanMicrobadge: Great Western Trail fan Microbadge: Punchboard Paradise listenerMicrobadge: Age of steam fanMicrobadge: I like Grand Austria Hotel
The answer is Yes.

Per the "Clarification" rules on Page 11, second bullet point under the Speech section, it says:

- "The Speeches can allow players to discard from their hand a Trauma or a Phobia with the corresponding Threat."

Trauma/Hard Knock cards include Snow, Rain, Dark (1 of each in the game)
Phobia/Hard Knock cards include Shell, Whistle, Gas Mask (1 of each in the game)

While on this topic, here is a note about Good Luck Charms: A good luck charm only allows you to discard a card from No Man's Land, not a Trauma or Phobia card in somebody's play area.

So where a Speech would allow you to discard a Trauma/Phobia card from your hand, a Good Luck Charm does not allow you or another player to discard a Trauma or Phobia threat from your/their play area.
20 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Timothy Rose
United States
Des Moines
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
Microbadge: 5 Year Geek VeteranMicrobadge: I was here for BGG's Tenth Anniversary!Microbadge: Roborally fanMicrobadge: Pandemic fanMicrobadge: Dead of Winter: A Crossroads Game Fan
This is correct.

The quick and dirty version:

Speeches only hit cards in hand (and only OTHER players cards, not the hand of the person making the speech).

Good Luck Charms only hit cards in No Man's Land.

Hard Luck cards on the table (including those with symbols) can only be removed through Support tokens at the end of a round.
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steph Hodge
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Well, it's no Ginkgopolis...
Avatar
Microbadge: Robin Williams fanMicrobadge: Picture of the Year - 1st placeMicrobadge: All the Meeples of the Rainbow blogMicrobadge: Great Big Sea fanMicrobadge: Peter Lik fan
Wow this is helpful, thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flop Adrop
United States
California
flag msg tools
Microbadge: Pandemic fanMicrobadge: CaliforniaMicrobadge: University of California - BerkeleyMicrobadge: Aleph-0 - I'm a countable infinity!Microbadge: XCom - Vigilo Confido
Wait, a speech will not hit the speechmaker's hand?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paulo Renato
Portugal
Vila Nova Gaia
Porto
flag msg tools
I run through Rahdo's Runthroughs and make right what once went wrong (via annotations)
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Spielworxx fanMicrobadge: Capstone Games fanMicrobadge: Vital Lacerda fanMicrobadge: What's Your Game fanMicrobadge: FC Porto fan
flopadrop wrote:
Wait, a speech will not hit the speechmaker's hand?
no... the person making the speech will not discard a card only the other players do
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls