Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Dungeon Saga: Dwarf King's Quest» Forums » Rules

Subject: Green Rage Ability rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sergio Torres
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Green Rage Ability in the AC reads:

"The first time a model with this
ability suffers a wound it goes
into a Green Rage. This happens
regardless of the amount of
damage it suffers, i.e. it cannot
be killed by a single attack."


But orcs don't have wounds(X)

It seems the version of Green Rage for orcs matches the mechanic as originally designed in Dwarf Kings Hold.
My guess is that that mechanic was converted into an Ability in Dungeon Saga, where the model with Green Rage would lose one wound...

That may explain why Goblins are tougher than Orcs in terms of wounds (weird), because their resilience is not based on wounds but on the fact that in the first hit they don't die but go into Green Rage.


The explanation of Green Rage in Dwarf Kings Hold is available in this video
https://youtu.be/3IZYDR-ZSjg
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
seb seb2
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Goblins don't have Green Rage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sergio Torres
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Belsamoreth wrote:
Goblins don't have Green Rage.
You are very right and I have a very big mouth.
I still think it's inconsistent.

I have updated my original post.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
seb seb2
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
garrapeta wrote:
Belsamoreth wrote:
Goblins don't have Green Rage.
You are very right and I have a very big mouth.

I have updated my original post.
i am not sure i understand your first post.

there is only one description of Green Rage in the Ac:

""Green Rage: The first time a
model with this ability suffers a
wound it goes into a Green Rage.
This happens regardless of the
amount of damage it suffers, i.e. it
cannot be killed by a single attack.
The Green Rage gives the model
+1 dice and +2 movement as they
rampage around the battlefield.
Once a model enraged then any
subsequent hit will kill it.""

it's the same on the Overlord Panel.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sergio Torres
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry, it's very confusing.

"The first time a
model with this ability suffers a
wound it goes into a Green Rage."

But orcs don't have wounds (as in the ability of Wounds(x))

I think it should read:

"The first time a
model with this ability is hit it goes into a Green Rage."

Because they don't have wounds...

And with a model that have both Green Rage And Wounds(2), would the first hit turn him into Green Rage AND substract one wound, or only green rage?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thorsten Schröder
Germany
Bonn
flag msg tools
badge
Loser at the 'Pursuit of Happiness Contest'
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah... if you really really want to you can see a problem in this wording.
But do you really see a problem? I think it's quite easy to get how it works.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sergio Torres
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not now, I now see it clear.
When I read it for the first time I though there was an issue, because the rule says the word "wounds" and I thought it referred to wounds(x) as an ability...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Stewart
Canada
Burnaby
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
garrapeta wrote:
Not now, I now see it clear.
Which means that the wording *IS* unclear and really does need some polishing. Especially with respect to being consistent in the words used. If there is an *ability* called Wounds then using "wounds" and "Wounds" is gonna confuse the shit outta people, especially if, as you say, some monsters don't have wounds per se. I think your interpretation of "is hit" is far more clear than "suffers a wound".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leigh Shepherd
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
Microbadge: Black Sabbath fanMicrobadge: Clark Ashton Smith fanMicrobadge: 2000 AD fanMicrobadge: Ursula K. Le Guin fanMicrobadge: Dungeon Degenerates: Hand of Doom fan
I read it as once an Orc gets wounded (takes a Wound), rather than dying (as they can only take 1 wound), they ignore the wound and go into Green Rage? Effectiveloy, they have 2 wounds, as they ignore the first wound event (even if it causes 2 or 3 wounds), and just get mad? Second wound event kills them
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P S
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
@Leigh: Normally, minions take a number of wounds equivalent to the number of hits they got. So, if my hero got 3 hits on it, and it has 3 wounds, I kill it instantly.
Not so with orcs. I can hit them as many times as I want (within one fight action), they never die in one attack. You need a second fight action to finish them off. Hope that clears things up.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leigh Shepherd
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
Microbadge: Black Sabbath fanMicrobadge: Clark Ashton Smith fanMicrobadge: 2000 AD fanMicrobadge: Ursula K. Le Guin fanMicrobadge: Dungeon Degenerates: Hand of Doom fan
Ah - I see that reading as well - it is a bit unambiguously ambiguous! The way it says "the first time" suggests that it is a one off effect that puts the Orc into Green Rage mode,(first wound discounted as per final sentence re cannot be killed by single attack) then any subsequent wounds kill the Orc after the first. Is it possible to do 2 attack actions on an Orc "simultaneously" or in a row in order to kill it off?

Tyr13 wrote:
@Leigh: Normally, minions take a number of wounds equivalent to the number of hits they got. So, if my hero got 3 hits on it, and it has 3 wounds, I kill it instantly.
Not so with orcs. I can hit them as many times as I want (within one fight action), they never die in one attack. You need a second fight action to finish them off. Hope that clears things up. :)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmb
Leigh Shepherd wrote:
I read it as once an Orc gets wounded (takes a Wound), rather than dying (as they can only take 1 wound), they ignore the wound and go into Green Rage? Effectiveloy, they have 2 wounds, as they ignore the first wound event (even if it causes 2 or 3 wounds), and just get mad? Second wound event kills them
This is exactly right
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls