Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Mansions of Madness» Forums » Rules

Subject: Damage from Fire rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
AGN1964 AGN1964
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Does fire in a burning room cause damage (e.g remove from play) to:
1) Unexplored items.
2) Dropped items.
3) Tokens, like barriers and hiding places?

Related, if a monster that drops items upon death (Cult Leader for instance) is killed by burning to death, are those items consumed by the fire, or can you come back and get them later?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
Microbadge: AtheistMicrobadge: Better Living Through ChemistryMicrobadge: GayMicrobadge: Beard fanMicrobadge: Leather Pride
No - fire only affects investigators.

EDIT: And monsters. Should more rightly have said "fire only affects figures".
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikkel Øberg
Denmark
Gundsømagle
flag msg tools
badge
Ahh, you found me... Run!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) No,
2) No,
3) And no.

Fire only does exactly what fire says in the rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Terry Thompson
United States
Laurel
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bleached_lizard wrote:
No - fire only affects investigators.
And monsters!
Fire in a room does 2 damage at the end of the turn to all investigators and monsters still in the room.
The only other effect is that a room with a fire marker forces willpower test to any investigator moving into the space. If they fail, they take 1 horror. They can still enter the room; pass or fail. But it forces a test.
If an investigator is in the room when the token is placed, they don't have to make the horror check, unless they move out of the room and move back into it again.
-Terry
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
Microbadge: AtheistMicrobadge: Better Living Through ChemistryMicrobadge: GayMicrobadge: Beard fanMicrobadge: Leather Pride
firespiter wrote:
bleached_lizard wrote:
No - fire only affects investigators.
And monsters!
Fire in a room does 2 damage at the end of the turn to all investigators and monsters still in the room.
The only other effect is that a room with a fire marker forces willpower test to any investigator moving into the space. If they fail, they take 1 horror. They can still enter the room; pass or fail. But it forces a test.
If an investigator is in the room when the token is placed, they don't have to make the horror check, unless they move out of the room and move back into it again.
-Terry
Correct, of course! Have edited my post.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberta Yang
msg tools
AGN1964 wrote:
Related, if a monster that drops items upon death (Cult Leader for instance) is killed by burning to death, are those items consumed by the fire, or can you come back and get them later?
The Inner Sanctum Cult Leader is a special case. Event 1 states that when an investigator kills the Cult Leader, that investigator claims the Cult Robes. If the Cult Leader dies without being killed by an investigator (e.g. by burning to death), then nobody has a chance to claim the Cult Robes.

Mechanically, the fire hasn't actually destroyed the Cult Robes; it just stole the investigators' kill and in doing so denied them their prize. Thematically, of course, the Cult Robes are consumed by the flames.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls