Dustin Schwartz
United States
Jackson
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
www.therulesforge.com
badge
Get your slimy, webbed phalanges off ma boots!
Microbadge: Live long and prosperMicrobadge: Cat loverMicrobadge: GrandCon attendeeMicrobadge: Reduce, Reuse, RecycleMicrobadge: I like learning games more than winning them!
Hi folks, I've been editing board game rulebooks for about 18 months now. I've got 20+ rulebooks under my belt for which I was the lead writer or editor. I've worked professionally as a writer and editor in the past, although I'm currently employed in radio.

Up until now, all of my work has been pro bono, because 1) I dislike reading subpar rulebooks myself, and 2) a lot of publishers in the post-KS era are one-man operations who don't necessarily have the skillset to create a top-notch rulebook on their own.

When I edit a rulebook, I don't just correct typos. I take a deep dive and suggest structural changes, study the game's terminology lexicon, and make sure I understand how to play the game so that I can anticipate FAQs and address them within the rules document. For a 2,000-word rulebook, I generally invest 10+ hours.

With some increasing pressure and workload at my day job, I find myself at a crossroads. Editing rulebooks for free is still something I love to do, but the extra work is taking its toll on me and I fear I can no longer continue to do so for so little return.

My hope is that charging a nominal fee would make my work model a little more viable. So we come to my question: If you're a designer or publisher, would you pay $50 to have your rulebook edited/developed by a professional?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin Schwartz
United States
Jackson
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
www.therulesforge.com
badge
Microbadge: Live long and prosperMicrobadge: Cat loverMicrobadge: GrandCon attendeeMicrobadge: Reduce, Reuse, RecycleMicrobadge: I like learning games more than winning them!