Popular Tags: [View All]
Luke Jaconetti
United States
Simpsonville
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
While perusing a GeekList of free Print & Play games (Games That Are Free To Print and Play), I came across this dungeon crawler which looked perfect for my situation -- which is to say, a complete lack of access to a color printer. This one didn't need color, and looked like fun, so I figured I would give it a whirl.

First, some background on myself and my relationship with dungeons. I did not start playing D&D until the very tail end of 2nd Edition when I was a sophomore in college circa 1999. But even before I rolled a d20, I was familiar with the dungeon crawl thanks to a game I had on my Game Gear -- Dragon Crystal. DC was a Rogue-like game, where each level of the labyrinth was generated randomly each game, along with the enemies and loot. I played that game for hours on end, hacking and slashing my way through level after level of labyrinth, grabbing new weapons, armor, and magical items as I did. So while I had no experience doing this on pencil and paper, I had already logged countless hours doing it digitally.

Furthermore, I am a big fan of the PocketMod. I use them a lot at work since I always have access to paper, and I am cheap. So with the implementation of PocketDungeon being on a PocketMod, that made me even more interested in giving it a shot.

After reading the rules over a couple of times, I rolled up my character. I created a Warrior, giving him S4, D3, and W2. I chose a Hand Axe and Cloth Armor, and rolled a 7 for HP (woo!). I decided to play against the Undead, as I have always liked skeletons as fantasy enemies since watching Jason And The Argonauts as a small child. I decided to let all of the Skeletons have both swords and bows. Thus prepared, I kick in the first door and off we go...