Recommend
16 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Steam Time» Forums » Rules

Subject: FAQ Posted rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Anthony Rubbo
United States
Philadelphia
PA
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From:
http://www.thamesandkosmos.com/images/steam_time_faq/Steam-T...

STEAM TIME FAQ
For First Edition Game and Instructions, November 2015


Q: In a 4-player game, there are not enough orange crystals to fill all players’ analytic engines. What happens in the income phase if an upgrade would provide me with an orange crystal, but there is none? Can I take a T.I.M.E.-crystal instead?

A: When a resource is exhausted, it is gone, be it gold or crystals. Therefore, you do not get this income.


Q: And what if I take the gold action, which would give me 7 gold and thanks to my full Midas machine an additional 8 gold, for 15 gold in total, but there is only 12 gold left in the bank? And what if I would get 3 crystals of the same color, but there is only 1 crystal of that color left?

A: When there is not enough of a resource to fully satisfy a demand, you get as much of that resource as possible. In the example, you would get 12 gold or the 1 remaining crystal.


Q: On page 8, it says, “Take one of the missions…” Does that mean I can take any mission? For the expeditions, it says I have to take the expedition next to the action space.

A: No, this is a mistake. It should read, “Take the mission next to the action space…”


Q: An encounter would give me 2 (or 3) crystals. However, in my generator, there are not enough free slots. May I still execute the action and take fewer than the number of crystals indicated?

A: Yes, you may still execute the action. Take as many crystals as will fit into your generator (mind the placement rules and possible costs though!).


Q: When I use Mr. T.I.M.E. to get an additional action, do I also get the corresponding bonus related to that action space?

A: Yes, an action always yields a possible additional bonus (if your generator has crystals), no matter whether you execute the action with one of your airship tokens or Mr. T.I.M.E.


Q: To fulfill some missions, I have to spend crystals of any color as indicated by the rainbowcolored crystal. Can these also be T.I.M.E.-crystals?

A: Yes, T.I.M.E.-crystals are universally usable and can be used when a mission calls for a crystal of any color. When spending a T.I.M.E.-crystal, it is spent as if it were a crystal of the color of the generator it is installed in.


Q: And what if I would receive crystals of any color? Can I take T.I.M.E.-crystals in this case?

A: No. You get T.I.M.E.-crystals when taking the first player action, when executing the crystal action and its bonus, or if a symbol specifically says so (some upgrades, encounters, expeditions, and specialists).


Q: I have placed my first (or second) airship token on an action space of the top most monument board. What do I do now in my second (and third) turn of this round?

A: You must skip your turn. Bad move — unless you can still get the first player tile.


Q: Do I receive the rewards for an expedition one after the other or all together?

A: You get the rewards together. Check first the number of crystals you have in your analytic engine and then take the corresponding rewards.

Example: You have 3 orange crystals in your calculating machine. You pay for the expedition action (i.e. Eldorado) and take the expedition card. You get 5 esteem, 1 T.I.M.E.-crystal, and 5 gold.

You do NOT get 5 esteem first, advance them on the esteem track, then take 1 T.I.M.E.-crystal and place it (for example) in your analytic engine, then take 5 gold and, then — because of the 4th crystal in your analytic engine — get 1 step on the time portal track!



Q: And what if I get several rewards on action spaces, through upgrades or encounters? Can I choose the order in which I get them or do I have to take them from left to right or top to bottom?

A: You can choose the order in which you get the rewards!

Example: You have no gold, a level III upgrade (which yields 1 orange crystal and 6 gold) and 4 crystals in your analytic engine. In the income phase, you can choose the order in which you get the rewards and thus take the gold first and then take the orange crystal and pay 2 gold to place it in your analytic engine.
14 
 Thumb up
2.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Indru
Romania
Timisoara
Timis
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great! Thank you!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don Riddle
United States
Leesburg
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Two questions:

1. Can you use Steam at the end of the game to change the color of crystals for the purposes of paying for Mission cards?

2. Can you place your Airship at an action space and not take the action but still receive the bonus? For example, if I have 2 Black gems in my lab generator but no gold, can I still go to a Crystal Deposit (black) space and buy no crystals but still receive the bonus of 2 T.I.M.E. crystals?

On a side note, after playing a few 2 player games, I have to disagree with the ruling in the FAQ about only being able to grab the Mission or Expedition from the level your Airship is placed. This severely limits the use of these cards. I'm guessing this is less a problem in 3 and 4 player games, but I'd consider changing that rule for the 2 player game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
sb so
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
riddle13 wrote:
[...] I have to disagree with the ruling in the FAQ about only being able to grab the Mission or Expedition from the level your Airship is placed. This severely limits the use of these cards. I'm guessing this is less a problem in 3 and 4 player games, but I'd consider changing that rule for the 2 player game.
I can't imagine how and why, a 3rd and 4th player would be less of an issue with grabbing the cards you might have wanted. The action could be interesting for even more people. But maybe I misunderstood the issue.

Grabbing a card that would benefit you a lot is your decision, so whether you go as fast as possible even losing a turn or assume other players might not be interested in it and wait some turn(s) for the grab, or if you switch to another target altogether. Your decision. Great. Love it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Williams
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
riddle13 wrote:
Two questions:

2. Can you place your Airship at an action space and not take the action but still receive the bonus? For example, if I have 2 Black gems in my lab generator but no gold, can I still go to a Crystal Deposit (black) space and buy no crystals but still receive the bonus of 2 T.I.M.E. crystals?
The way I interpret the rules, I don't believe so. Rule book, page 9, under "Crystal deposits" says, "Buy 1 or more crystals for 2 gold each."

Since you can't execute the action (there are no crystals to buy), you can't move to that action space. This is explained on page 7, under "b) Place 1 airship and execute the action."

Looks like we need input from the designer on both of your questions! :D
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls