Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

No Retreat 4! Italian Front: 1943-45» Forums » Rules

Subject: Combat result question (EX/CR + advance) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kris Van Beurden
Belgium
Leuven
Vlaams-Brabant
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In my first attack roll of the game, I got a weird result - an Italian static division attacked by a US division rolled a EX/CR.

After the EX, the Italians were gone. CR makes me choose between a counterattack or a "D" result - with no units left, I don't know if I even have a choice (or if it is relevant). Normally, an advance could only happen after a "D" result, but also only if the hex was vacated by retreating units, which didn't happen.

Did my Italians fight to the death on the beaches and so stop the US onslaught (i.e. no advance)? Or did the US fight through the fascist troops and gain the beachhead after all?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tegarend wrote:
In my first attack roll of the game, I got a weird result - an Italian static division attacked by a US division rolled a EX/CR.

After the EX, the Italians were gone. CR makes me choose between a counterattack or a "D" result - with no units left, I don't know if I even have a choice (or if it is relevant). Normally, an advance could only happen after a "D" result, but also only if the hex was vacated by retreating units, which didn't happen.

Did my Italians fight to the death on the beaches and so stop the US onslaught (i.e. no advance)? Or did the US fight through the fascist troops and gain the beachhead after all?


The Americans did not get the beachhead.

There is exacly an example of this in the Playbook (I made sure to cover all possible EX/CR results in the examples of play).

Page 36, down right:

... Ratio is 3:2, one shift left for
the terrain, two right for the No Supply marker, resulting
in 2:1 odds. The die roll is a “4,” an “EX/CR”. Each side
loses one step, which eliminates the US CDO unit. Since
the defender was eliminated, the “CR” result is applied
as a “D” (an eliminated unit can’t counterattack), and the
attackers can’t advance on this result as no unit retreated.



devil
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kris Van Beurden
Belgium
Leuven
Vlaams-Brabant
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Man, I spent 3 hours poring over the playbook today trying to figure out the Sicily scenario, and still missed that one!

Cool game, but I nééd to find an opponent for it

Thanks a lot for the quick answer!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tegarend wrote:

Cool game, but I nééd to find an opponent for it


Same problem here. cry

The Vassal module should be out soon. whistle

Edit: Opponent? You should contact bdegroot, he lives about 30km from you!

Bart de Groot
United Kingdom
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kris Van Beurden
Belgium
Leuven
Vlaams-Brabant
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
licinius wrote:
Tegarend wrote:

Cool game, but I nééd to find an opponent for it


Same problem here. cry

The Vassal module should be out soon. whistle

Edit: Opponent? You should contact bdegroot, he lives about 30km from you!

Bart de Groot
United Kingdom
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb



You clearly don't know how large a distance 30 km is for a Belgian/European
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tegarend wrote:

You clearly don't know how large a distance 30 km is for a Belgian/European


LOL! Well met! In fact I do: I lived near Paris for over 5 years. And I was thinking about exactly what you said when I posted.

Note that I drive 40km each morning to go to work: a trifle by Canadian standards. So stop whining!

http://canada.distancesonline.com/Montreal/Sainte-Therese
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.