Bruce
United States
Chagrin Falls
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Although I am a longtime gamer (wargames, Euros, RPGs, etc.), I am a complete newbie to sports games, and in particular to APBA Pro Baseball. My young son is showing interest in all things baseball, so I recently acquired a used copy of APBA with the 2009 MLB line-up. It will likely be a while before he is old enough to play, but it looks like fun and I'd like to learn it for my own sake!

I am a very casual baseball fan, and, in preparation for APBA, I've been self-teaching how to score a baseball game. The more I learn, the more fascinated I become, and the more I can see why baseball has such a passionate following.

The APBA basic rules are easy enough to follow. But my question is in regard to interpreting some of the roll results on the various charts (e.g., "Runner on Third Base", etc.). I tried to find explanations or descriptions on BGG and the Internet of the annotations/interpretations on those charts, and while I feel sure they are out there, I can't seem to find them. I'd be grateful to have someone point out a resource and/or explain a few examples below (or any others you think are sufficiently demonstrative -- the ones I've listed below have been picked semi-randomly). I think if I can get answers to a handful of examples, I'll be able to piece together the rest. I know (or at least I think I do!) what a lot of these annotations mean, but I'm especially confused by some of the alphanumeric indicators. Here are the examples:

Runner on Third Base - Fielding Two - 13:
"Strikeout; PO-C (R-Fly out; runner holds; PO-CF)"

Runner on Third Base - Fielding Two - 26:
"C-Runner out at home; batter to 2nd on rundown; A-2B A-C PO-3B
"D-Out at 1st; runner scores; A-2B PO-1B"

Runner on Third Base - Fielding One - 19:
"FC; runner escapes rundown on dropped throw; batter out at 2nd; runner remains on 3rd; A-3B A-C A-38 PO-2B; *E-3B runner scores"