8 Posts

BGG» Forums » Board Game Design » Works in Progress

Subject: WIP - d'Ice Hockey rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Siemens
msg tools
Hey all - first post on this forum!!

Little background...I play hockey in real life. I work as an IT administrator for a living. Any given day you may find me painting Warhammer 40k figures, playing ice hockey, working on my Dodge Viper, driving R/C cars...I have many, many hobbies.

Last year I decided that I wanted to combine a few of my hobbies into a board game. I constructed a board, hex-based, in the shape of a hockey rink and started doing some play testing. Due to the complex nature of hockey, we found it really difficult to come up with a fair set of rules for movement without getting overly complicated (think...Blood Bowl). I wanted the game to be a little more accessible than that.

I dropped the project for a while and kind of had the idea out of the blue to resort to cards entirely. What I've been brewing up is a non-CCG card and dice game. It will be somewhat in the vain of Magic... Instead of lands, though, you will get fans. Instead of creatures battling each other and then dealing damage to the player, there will be player cards that are brought into play that try to create shots on goal. Once a shot on goal happens, a chance/dice-based mechanic will determine the success of the shot.

Of course, the player will likely start with a bare-bones group of rookies and be able to "summon" better players, upgrade current players, etc, during the course of the game. As getting a licensing deal with the NHL is out of the question, the players will all be fictional and a CCG model will not be feasible. Not that I would want that anyway.

There are one or two card-based hockey games out there, but I don't feel like they truly capture the spirit of the sport, the randomness, and the excitement.