Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kai Mayer
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Hi there! I'm relatively new to wargaming, but have been playing A Victory Lost pretty frequently and loving it. Are there any other similar games that you all would recommend?

I would like to note that I'm indifferent about the chit-pull mechanic, and definitely wish the game was shorter (our games tend to last in the 7-9 hour range). What I'm really looking for is another game that has the same blend of simplicity + depth of AVL (being as pretty as AVL wouldn't hurt either!). I've looked at getting A Victory Denied but heard mixed reviews.

Any help would appreciated, thanks!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Szarka
Canada
Waterloo
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
When it is your turn to send a VASSAL move, the wait is excruciating. When it's my turn, well, I've been busy.
mbmbmbmbmb
Simple but Deep Wargames

Not everyone will agree on every item in this list, but it's a good place to start.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Moody
United States
Edmond
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Bulbous also tapered?
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I think anything will be a bit of a let down after AVL.

However, Adam has done a good job sorting through numerous games of foreign origin for MMP's Special Ops magazine. I'd recommend the games in issues 2,3,4, and 6. (3 will have similar mechanisms to AVL, and is also a very good game).

They're a bargain anywhere, especially here:

http://yhst-12000246778232.stores.yahoo.net/mupuse.html
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Logan
United States
Peoria
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
This thread may be of some use to you. I was looking for a low counter density, low rules complexity, chit-pull game a couple weeks ago.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Starkweather
United States
Commack
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb