Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonahdel
Canada
Burnaby
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So, while waiting for the game, I'm assembling the tools that I'll need to build the minis.

So far, I have the following:

1. X-acto Knife, Small clippers,
2. el-cheapo air brush that is good enough, Paint brushes
3. Painting/Cutting booth.

You might notice two (maybe 3) important things that are missing.

1. Superglue or Plastic cement
2. Paint
3. Green stuff

My questions are:

1. Superglue or Plastic Cement?
- I have a lot of experience with supergluing things that should not be superglued and it ends up with that white hue at the end, looks ugly. Is there a superglue that doesnt end up with this?
- A friend recommended Testor's, how much of that do I need if go the plastic cement way?
2. Paint.
- Same friend suggested either Tamiya or Citadel. What are your thoughts?
3. After researching, Green stuff appears to be basic epoxy.
- I've worked with epoxy before on airplane parts. How hard/easy is it to work with and would you recommend it to a guy who has never assembled minis before aside from the occasional gunpla?

Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Team Ski
United States
Dover
Delaware
flag msg tools
badge
CHOMP!!!!
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Plastic cement all the way! Testers in the black jar is more than enough.

2. Citadel or any equivalent miniatures acrylic paint will do. Do not settle for acrylics found at your local AC Moore!

3. I don't bother filling cracks.....

-Ski

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephanie Gustafsson
Sweden
Vallentuna
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
TamiyA if you intend to airbrush. Citadel is crap in airbrushed and does not respond well to acrylic airbrush thinner or airbrush cleaner. It turns to lumpy glue.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonahdel
Canada
Burnaby
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Lanfearious wrote: