Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Pandemic» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can I cure a disease instead of discarding rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Raggio
United States
flag msg tools
mbmb
Assume I am on a research station and my partner joins me there and I take a card from them on my turn pushing me to 8 cards, but I now have 5 of one color can I cure the disease instead of first discarding a card and then curing it?

Thanks,
John
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Thibodeau
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No you must discard first.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris S
Canada
Delta
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fardoche wrote:
No you must discard first.
I'll add a little rationale for this. Taking a card (Sharing Knowledge) is an action. Curing a disease is an action. Sharing Knowledge is not complete until you discard down to your hand limit. At that point you can start the next action, curing the disease.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Raggio
United States
flag msg tools
mbmb
Bummer, makes sense.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob (he/him)
United States
Lutz
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, the rule is pretty clear on this:

Players have a hand limit of 7 cards. If the number of cards in hand ever exceeds 7 as a result of drawing cards (or performing the Share Knowledge action), the player must immediately discard cards in excess to the Player Discard Pile. Players may choose which cards to discard. Players may play Special Event cards (including any they have just drawn) instead of discarding them, to help reduce their hand to 7.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls