47 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Kingdom Death: Monster» Forums » General

Subject: Stylized painting so I can actually get these things done rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim Buckley
msg tools
Though I've been a hobbyist for over a decade, I'm also the father of a 2 year old now, and free time is at a premium these days.

I chose to magnetize the arms of my figures, so that we could swap out what I felt the only truly important exchangeable bit: the weapons (in the heat of game play, if a survivor only has the lion tunic, it doesn't matter to me if his mini has the arms and legs too. But at a glance, it's nice to see your little guy holding the actual weapons he's fighting with).

However it did present a minor issue in terms of how to paint the pieces so that they wouldn't look completely out of place when moved around to different torsos.

Fortunately, I felt the entire atmosphere of Kingdom Death provided an opportunity to solve both my problems. Going with a desaturated, monochromatic style not only ensures that the pieces can swap almost seamlessly, but is incredibly easy to do quickly. I did these four guys in 2 short sessions, and feel like I'd have no trouble building/updating my group's miniatures between play sessions going forward.

I also feel like it works with the game's aesthetic in a very stylized manner. They look great on the game board.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonahdel
Canada
Burnaby
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Looks really good!

Makes me wanna do mine in dark brown / sepia color tone instead of fully colored!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
E Licious
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I like it!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
My name is
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Is the main color really greenish/yellowish or is it the photo?
Whatever the answer, I strongly believe that a monochromatic style is the best approach.
Easy for beginners, fast to implement and it seems to suit the board very well.