Hi, we've tried 2 games of this now, only to put it away after 10 mins both times as it just doesn't make sense (to us),I must be missing something, The boat moves to the next dip (i.e the next bay) and this means there are three spaces per beach.
1, when the boat moves due to explorer card, does it move to the next board or the next dip on the same board?
2, which one of these is correct: there's 6 spaces for raiding groups on each beach or 3? I think the answer to (1) will clear this up.
We've tried it both ways of (1 & 2).
I really hope I'm missing something from the rules.
You get one action per 'raider' - worker in essence that is on the board or boat. The English rules aren't very clear. Also it turns out if the first two tiles are free of treasure the first tile gets removed and placed at the end. That is missing from the first print of both German & English rules.
I'm glad my first game would be with all the rules clarified. Lookout - NOT mayfair - dropped the ball on the rules allegedly, especially the English ones*. However it seems to have become group-think the disparage the game. Sure it isn't Field Of Arle but that doesn't mean Uwe hasn't created a quick light race game (it is essentially a race to get to the end and the most VPs)
EDITED: Removed incorrect references.