Subject: Can Concentration power itself? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tragic TheBlathering
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
Can you play "Concentration" and take a green mana and then use that to active the powered up ability on the "Concentration" card? Or do you need to have the mana available before you play it?

Example
• I take a red mana cube from the source
• I play Concentration.
• I take a green mana token (as per weak effect of the card)
• I then place that green mana token on concentration to active the strong effect as well.

Is that legal?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antonia
Germany
Wolfsburg
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Although I am quite new to the game myself, I am pretty sure the answer is no.

You can either play a card for its basic or its strong effect.
You can not play the same card first for its basic effect and then additionally use its strong effect.

Rulebook, pg. 4 "Deed Cards"
Quote:

An Action card (Basic or Advanced) can be played to
provide its basic effect, or it can be powered by one mana of
the depicted color to provide its strong effect.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tragic TheBlathering
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
I'm pretty sure that is correct.. you need to pay all costs to pay it.. so before it hits the table.

thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antonia
Germany
Wolfsburg
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
TragicTheBlathering wrote:
I'm pretty sure that is correct.. you need to pay all costs to pay it.. so before it hits the table.
Not only that is the problem.
What you described is using both effects on the card.
This is not possible, even if you would have had the mana required.
Every time you play a deed card for its effect you have to choose between the basic and the strong effect. You can not play a deed card to get both effects.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tragic TheBlathering
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools