Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

RoboRally» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do powered down bots still fire their lasers? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave Young
United States
Anacortes
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Can't find it in the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Laudermilk
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't have the book in front of me, but no, they don't.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Young
United States
Anacortes
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Yeah, I didn't think so. I played last night and I got shot by two powered down bots. I couldn't find in the rules where it specifically stated that they don't fire their lasers. But it makes sense to me that "Powered down" means just that. I would think that a laser requires power...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Uatu O'Lantern
United States
Fountain Valley
California
flag msg tools
Why is there no Word Games Forum or Subdomain?
badge
There should be a Word Games Subdomain, or at least a Word Games Forum!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. After all, lasers require power.

It doesn't appear to specify this anywhere in the Hasbrolon Hill edition rules (which perhaps shouldn't be surprising considering the overall quality of this edition's rulebook).

In the earlier edition's rulebook, it's on page 29:

"A powered-down robot is completely shut down--it can;t fire weapons, tag checkpoints, or update its archive location, nor can it acquire or use option cards."
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Young
United States
Anacortes
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hmm. That's the edition we were playing. I'll check it out. Thanks for the post!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tor Sverre Lund
Norway
Trondheim
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In any case, they definitely don't, not in any of the editions.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls